IPL 2023
Delhi Capitals Signs Sourav Ganguly As Director Of Cricket?
By CricShots - Jan 3, 2023 6:05 pm
Views 65

Former Indian skipper, Sourav Ganguly, who recently got off as the BCCI president is expected to rejoin the Delhi Capitals camp ahead of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023, according to the latest reports of PTI. The former India cricketer will reunite with the capital franchise after he served as a mentor for Delhi Capitals during the 2019 season.

Sourav Ganguly

Sourav Ganguly resigned from his position at DC when he was supposed to join as BCCI president in October 2019, however, now he has been replaced by Roger Binny succeeding him as the new president. The former cricketer, revered as one the greatest Indian captains of all time, will oversee the functioning of Delhi Capitals, along with their sister franchises, Dubai Capitals in ILT20 and the SA20 league side Pretoria Capitals.

ALSO READ: Jasprit Bumrah Has Been Included In India’s ODI Squad Against Sri Lanka

Describing the same, one of the anonymous sources of PTI said, “Yes, Sourav will be back with Delhi Capitals from this year. The discussions and modalities are over. He has worked with the franchise, shares a good comfort level with owners and if he would have worked in IPL, it would have always been with DC.”

Delhi Capitals (DC)
Delhi Capitals (DC)

The Delhi Capitals made five signings at the recently concluded IPL auction, capturing the signature of coveted dashers Phil Salt and Rilee Rossouw, along with some veteran players like Manish Pandey and Ishant Sharma. However, it was the young uncapped Indian pacer Mukesh Kumar, who turned out to be their most expensive buy at the event in Kochi.

It is believed that the former Indian skipper was working along with Delhi Capitals’ head coach Ricky Ponting, proposing the strategy for the IPL 2023 auction.

ALSO READ: Suryakumar Yadav Practiced Innovative Shots Ahead Of Mumbai T20

DC Full Squad: Rishabh Pant (captain), David Warner, Prithvi Shaw, Ripal Patel, Rovman Powell, Sarfaraz Khan, Yash Dhull, Mitchell Marsh, Lalit Yadav, Axar Patel, Anrich Nortje, Chetan Sakariya, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Khaleel Ahmed, Lungi Ngidi, Mustafizur Rahman, Aman Khan, Kuldeep Yadav, Praveen Dubey, Vicky Ostwal, Ishant Sharma, Phil Salt, Mukesh Kumar, Manish Pandey, Rilee Rossouw