Eng vs Ind: Adil Rashid Gets A Call Up For The First Test
By CricShots - Jul 26, 2018 6:15 pm
Views 20

The English leg-spinner Adil Rashid has been named in England’s 13-man squad for the first Test against India despite the fact that he has been signed on as a white-ball player only with his county side Yorkshire. Rashid, who last featured in Tests for England in 2016, against India in Chennai, has played 10 Tests for his 38 wickets.

Adil Rashid 

Speaking on the selection, chief selector Ed Smith made it clear that if Rashid had to be picked for the 2019 season, he’d have to have a county contract.

Smith said, “Adil Rashid also returns to the England Test squad. Before the selection meeting, Adil had confirmed his availability to play Test cricket for England for the whole of this summer and the upcoming winter tours to Sri Lanka and West Indies. Following his earlier decision in February 2018, Adil has a white-ball only contract to play for Yorkshire this summer. That arrangement is unchanged by his selection for England.”

WATCH – Adil Rashid Bamboozles Two Indian Greats In An Over

He further added, “However, Adil fully understands that if he wishes to be eligible for Test cricket in the 2019 season, he must have a county contract to play four-day cricket. Moving forward, England Test players must be committed to the county championship. Clearly, the one-off circumstances around Adil’s return to the Test squad are unusual. However, the selection panel was unanimous in believing that Adil should be selected in England’s squad.”

Jamie Porter

Also making a comeback into the Test squad as a spin-bowling all-rounder is Moeen Ali while pacer Jamie Porter earned his maiden call-up to the Test squad. Sam Curran has managed to regain his spot in the squad with the selection panel not keen on rushing back Chris Woakes, who has recovered from a thigh and knee injury.

The first Test is slated to be played on August 1 at Edgbaston.

England’s Test Squad:

Joe Root (c), Alastair Cook, Keaton Jennings, Dawid Malan, Jonny Bairstow (wk), Ben Stokes, Moeen Ali, Jos Buttler, Adil Rashid, Sam Curran, Stuart Broad, Jimmy Anderson, Jamie Porter