IPL 2021
England Cricket Board Denies Withdrawing Their Players From IPL 2021
By CricShots - Apr 27, 2021 7:03 pm
Views 967

The ongoing 14th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2021 has witnessed a lot of players from England and Australia taking part. However, the league witnessed a sudden exit of players from both nations. Rajasthan Royals (RR) suffered a huge blow as they lost a massive blow to their arsenal after losing as many as 4 players. They already lost three players from England and 1 player from Australia. England all-rounder Ben Stokes ruled out of the tournament citing a broken finger.

stokes buttler
Ben Stokes and Jos Buttler

On the other hand, England Cricket Board (ECB) confirmed that Jofra Archer has been ruled out of the tournament as they don’t want to risk their player. He had undergone surgery and even after recovering from the injury, the ECB decided it is best that Archer doesn’t take part in the tournament. Another English cricketer, Liam Livingstone opted out of the entire season due to bio-bubble fatigue. he waited in the wings for the first three games before pulling out of the tournament.

ALSO READ: Michael Vaughan Opens Up On England and Australian Players In IPL 2021

As the IPL teams are a bit worried about the availability of overseas cricketers, the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) confirmed that the English players will not be pulling out of the tournament unless there is an injury.

archer kishan
Jofra Archer

A spokesperson for the England and Wales Cricket Board told PA: “We continue to monitor and work with the players on an individual basis. We are offering advice daily to those that seek it. Our thoughts are with the people of India during these difficult times.”

As of now, 11 English cricketers are plying trade in the 14th edition of the IPL. Earlier, there were 14 England internationals to take part in the tournament. It is evident that three England cricketers, Ben Stokes, Jofra Archer and Liam Livingstone left the league for obvious reasons.

ALSO READ: Aakash Chopra Suggests A Player Whom RCB Should Exclude Against DC

With Stokes, Archer, and Livingstone pulled out of the ongoing season, which means only 11 players are available to take part in the tournament. These 11 England players are none other than Eoin Morgan (Kolkata Knight Riders), Jos Buttler (Rajasthan Royals), Moeen Ali, Sam Curran (Chennai Super Kings), Jonny Bairstow, Jason Roy (Sunrisers Hyderabad), Chris Woakes, Sam Billings, Tom Curran (Delhi Capitals), Chris Jordan, David Malan (Punjab Kings).