Evin Lewis rejects the 2018/19 central contracts
By Sandy - Oct 3, 2018 11:26 pm
Views 56

Cricket West Indies (CWI) has recently announced the 2018/19 Central Contracts where Evin Lewis has rejected the white-ball contract and four players have been awarded the all-format contract.

Evin Lewis

Evin Lewis is one of the regular white-ball players for Windies but has rejected to accept the central contracts. It is assumed that he wants to available for the various T20 leagues. The other senior cricketers like Chris Gayle, Sunil Narine, Andre Russell, Kieron Pollard, Darren Bravo, Dwayne Bravo, Marlon Samuels, Samuel Badree and Darren Sammy will serve for Windies on pro-rata deals based on their performances in the short term.

Windies cricket team

Also read: ECB announces 2018/19 Central contracts

Test and ODI Skipper Jason Holder, Shai Hope, Alzarri Joseph and Kemar Roach are the four players who have been awarded the all-format contract. A total of 18 men and 12 women have been awarded the new central contract that will run from 1 July 2018 to 30 June 2019.

The CWI CEO Johnny Grave said, “All Windies and Franchise players are now contracted from the 1st of July to the 30th of June, with their performances assessed from the 1st of April to the 31st of March. This will allow for a more efficient process of reviewing, renewing and awarded contracts within West Indies professional cricket and give everyone at least three months to plan for the season ahead.”

A total of eight players have been awarded the only red-ball contract while three players each have been awarded the only white-ball contract and development contract.

The full list is at the following:

All-format retainers: Jason Holder, Alzarri Joseph, Shai Hope and Kemar Roach

Red-ball retainers: Devendra Bishoo, Kraigg Brathwaite, Roston Chase, Miguel Cummins, Shane Dowrich, Shannon Gabriel, Shimron Hetmyer and Kieron Powell

White-ball retainers: Carlos Brathwaite, Ashley Nurse and Rovman Powell

Development retainers: Sunil Ambris, Keemo Paul and Raymon Reifer

Windies Women retainers: Merissa Aguilleira, Raniece Boyce, Shemaine Campbelle, Shamilia Connell, Deandra Dottin, Afy Fletcher, Hayley Matthews, Anisa Mohammed, Chedean Nation, Akeira Peters, Shakera Selman and Stafanie Taylor