Five Players With Most T20 Titles In The History Of Cricket
By SMCS - May 16, 2021 8:46 pm
Views 10.8K

Franchise cricket has now become famous worldwide ever since the Indian Premier League (IPL) started ay back in 2008. While it has maintained its popularity after being played for so many years, a few other franchise leagues have started taking place all over the world like Big Bash League, Caribbean Premier League, Pakistan Super League, Bangladesh Premier League and a few. However, these all have a huge set of followers across the globe.

mumbai Indians
Mumbai Indians won the IPL 2020

However, these leagues have gained so much popularity because of the foreign players participating in these tournaments. And, many of them have won several titles as well.

Let’s have a look at the top five players, who have won the most T20 titles:

5. Lasith Malinga – 9 Titles

Sri Lankan speedster Lasith Malinga is one of the legends in the limited-overs game – be it for his country or any franchise league. Malinga, who has led Sri Lanka in the T20 World Cup title in the year 2014, has featured in many T20 competitions across the globe. And, who can forget his stunning show while playing for Mumbai Indians, the most successful team in the IPL?

Lasith Malinga
Lasith Malinga

Mumbai Indians won the title in 2013, 2015, 2017 and 2019 when the pacer was with the team. During the final of the 2019 edition, his stunning Yorker dismissed Shardul Thakur while he was defending just a single run and it helped the win as well. Apart from that, he has won a CLT20 title, being a part of the Mumbai Indians franchise also. And, he has won a total of nine T20 titles as well.

READ HERE: “He is the real deal” – Aakash Chopra on Chetan Sakariya

4. Rohit Sharma – 10 Titles

Swashbuckling India opener and the captain of Mumbai Indians, Rohit Sharma is one of the best batsmen in world cricket right now. Along with being a classy batsman, he is also one of the best captains in the Indian Premier League where he has a better winning percentage than others. Notably, Rohit has led Mumbai Indians to five titles so far, which is the most by any franchise as well.

Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma

On the other hand, Rohit’s first T20 title came with the national team during the 2007 World T20 tournament, which was played in South Africa. He also has a CLT20 title to his name, which he won while playing for Mumbai Indians. He has ten T20 titles overall in his name so far.

3. Shoaib Malik – 12 Titles

VeteranPakistan player Shoaib Malik is considered as one of the legends of the game. He has also been featured in various franchise leagues across the globe. Malik is known for his stable knocks in the middle order and also he is quite good with his off-spin.

He was also featured for Delhi Daredevils in the cash-rich IPL once. So far, he has 12 titles to his name. He had played a key role for Pakistan in the 2009 T20 World Cup title win. And, he is also the only Pakistani cricketer to have more than ten T20 titles in his name as well.

ALSO READ: Daryl Mitchell and Glenn Phillips earn New Zealand contract

2. Dwayne Bravo – 14 Titles

The swashbuckling West Indies all-rounder has taken part in many franchise cricket so far and has also many records to his name in the T20 format. While he can hit sixes with ease, he can bowl cutters and slower balls quite well which can trouble the opponent as well. Moreover, he has won two T20 World Cup titles with his national team in 2012 and 2014.

Notably, he is one of the vital cogs of Chennai Super Kings which have won three IPL titles so far and the second-most successful team in the league. Apart from that, he won two BBL titles as well as won the title Trinbago Knight Riders which makes the tally of 14 T20 titles to his name.

1. Kieron Pollard- 15 Titles

Kieron Pollard, one of the important members of Mumbai Indians as well as the Caribbean has the most number of T20 titles in his name. He has won 15 titles so far. He has won six titles with Mumbai Indians in IPL and CLT20 tournaments as well.

Kieron Pollard
Kieron Pollard thanked almighty

And, who doesn’t know his ability to turn the table anytime? His swashbuckling knock against their arch-rivals Chennai Super Kings in the recently-suspended IPL shows how effortlessly he can play the T20 format as well.