Social Shots
Gambhir Annoyed With Obsession For Dhoni’s WC 2011 Six
By CricShots - Apr 2, 2020 1:55 pm
Views 291
Share Post

On Thursday, the nation is celebrating the nine-year anniversary of India’s 2011 World Cup win, former Indian opener, and BJP MP Gautam Gambhir said that the tournament was won by a collective effort by the team and its support staff. During the 2011 World Cup final between India and Sri Lanka, then skipper MS Dhoni had smashed a six to finish the game which helped the Men in Blue to lift the ODI World Cup after 28 years.

Gautam Gambhir scored a 50 in the World Cup 2011 final

Cricket fans across the nation cherish this as an everlasting memory. However, Gambhir was quick to point out that the tournament was won by the efforts of the entire team and dedicated support staff. Taking to Twitter, he wrote: “Just a reminder @ESPNcricinfo: #worldcup2011 was won by entire India, entire Indian team & all support staff. High time you hit your obsession for a SIX.”


In the finals, Sri Lanka won the toss and opted to bat first. For the Lankans, Mahela Jayawardene top-scored as he went on to score a flamboyant century to take the team’s score to 274/6. In order to lift the trophy, the men in blue had to chase won the total which was never been achieved before in the World Cup final.

ALSO READ: Jasprit Bumrah Reveals His Football Inspiration To Rohit Sharma

India in their chase got off to a bad start as they lost both their fiery openers, Sachin Tendulkar and Virender Sehwag at a meager score of 31 runs on the board. But Gambhir and Virat Kohli then steadied the ship before the latter getting out in the 22nd over. Then, MS Dhoni along with Gambhir stepped up and stitched a match-winning partnership fo 109 runs. 

ALSO READ: Hardik Pandya Sends A Strong Message In A Crisis Situation

Gambhir perished after playing a knock of 97 runs, but in the end, Dhoni and Yuvraj Singh made sure that India gets over the line without any more hiccups. The men in blue eventually won the match by six wickets and 10 balls to spare. India won its first World Cup in 1983 and then had to wait for 28 years to again lift the title.