Glenn Phillips’ Superhuman Dive Denies Labuschagne Century In Australia’s Dominant Innings
By CricShots - Mar 9, 2024 10:21 am
Views 24

On Day 2 of the second Test match between Australia and New Zealand in Christchurch, Australia responded emphatically to New Zealand’s total of 162 runs by posting a commanding 256 runs in their first innings. The visitors displayed resilience and determination, particularly highlighted by Marnus Labuschagne’s gritty knock of 90 runs, anchoring the innings with skill and determination.

Glenn Phillips
Glenn Phillips takes a flying catch

Marnus Labuschagne’s innings was unfortunately cut short just before Lunch by a spectacular one-handed diving catch from Glenn Phillips in the gully, denying him a well-deserved century. Despite Labuschagne’s valiant effort, Australia faced struggles with their batting lineup, with Mitchell Starc being the next best contributor with 28 runs for the ninth wicket.

ALSO READ: Zaheer Khan Praises Yashasvi Jaiswal’s Consistent Intentions And Stellar Form

Matt Henry proved to be a formidable force for New Zealand, showcasing his skill with figures of 7-67, marking only the second time in his Test career that he has taken seven wickets in an innings.


In the latter stages of their innings, Pat Cummins displayed some aggressive batting, scoring 23 runs off just 22 balls, including smashing Ben Sears for three fours and a six. However, Australia ultimately finished their innings with a lead of 94 runs, as Henry returned to dismiss Starc and Cummins.

ALSO READ: Jasprit Bumrah’s Masterful Innings And Elegant Cover Drive Shine In Dharamsala Test

With a significant lead in hand, Australia will be aiming for a series-clinching victory after winning the first Test by 172 runs. Meanwhile, New Zealand will be looking to mount a strong batting display in their second innings to level the series. The first Test showcased Australia’s strengths, including Cameron Green’s impressive 174* and Henry’s exceptional eight-wicket haul, providing them with confidence heading into the remainder of the series.

New Zealand (Playing XI): Tom Latham, Will Young, Kane Williamson, Rachin Ravindra, Daryl Mitchell, Tom Blundell (wk), Glenn Phillips, Scott Kuggeleijn, Matt Henry, Tim Southee (c), Ben Sears

Australia (Playing XI): Steven Smith, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Cameron Green, Travis Head, Mitchell Marsh, Alex Carey (wk), Pat Cummins (c), Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood