Hardik Pandya To Lead Team India During The Ireland Series, SKY Comes Back
By CricShots - Jun 15, 2022 9:07 pm
Views 49

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Wednesday (June 15) announced the Indian T20I squad for the Ireland series. The squad named for the two-match T20I series will be led by Hardik Pandya, while Suryakumar Yadav will be seen making his comeback after injury. The veteran Indian pacer, Bhuvneshwar Kumar has been named Hardik’s deputy for the series. Also, Rahul Tripathi has also received his maiden India call-up, while Sanju Samson has been recalled to the side.

Hardik Pandya
Hardik Pandya

Hardik Pandya, who led Gujarat Titans (GT) to the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022 title, will be leading the Indian team in absence of regular skipper Rohit Sharma. The 35-year-old Sharma along with Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah, Md Shami, Rishabh Pant, and others will be in England for the rescheduled 5th Test when another Indian squad will play T20Is in Ireland.

ALSO READ: Jay Shah Confirms IPL Will Have Two and Half Month Window From Next FTP

The 17-member squad for the series against Ireland also has a place for Rahul Tripathi, who has done consistently well in IPL in the last couple of season. Samson has also been recalled to the side after being neglected for the series against South Africa.

The Indian broadcasters shared a quircky poster ahead of the Ireland series.

India will play two T20Is on June 26th and 28th in Dublin. The Ireland Cricket Board announced a 14-player squad for the two-match series against India earlier.

ALSO READ: Sourav Ganguly Promises For A Better Infrastructure For The Fans In Future IPL Seasons

India’s T20I squad: Hardik Pandya (Captain), Bhuvneshwar Kumar (vice-captain), Ishan Kishan, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Sanju Samson, Suryakumar Yadav, Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Harshal Patel, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik

Ireland Men’s T20I squad: Andrew Balbirnie (Captain), Mark Adair, Curtis Campher, Gareth Delany, George Dockrell, Stephen Doheny, Josh Little, Andrew McBrine, Barry McCarthy, Conor Olphert, Paul Stirling, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker and Craig Young.