Hasan Ali Ruled Out Of Pakistan Squad Due To Back Spasm
By Shruti - Sep 21, 2019 4:29 pm
Views 32
Share Post

Pakistan fast bowler Hasan Ali has ruled out from the squad that will take on Sri Lanka in the upcoming ODI series due to a back spasm. The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) announced the 16-member squad that will host Sri Lanka in the three-match series which will begin from September 27. Hasan Ali is all set to undergo rehab at the National Cricket Academy in Lahore, according to the statement released by the Pakistan Cricket Board.

Hasan Ali

Along with Ali, another pacer Shaheen Afridi has also been ruled out as he is recovering from dengue. However, Abid Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan and Usman Shinwari have been recalled for the series after a long gap as they were not a part of the 2019 ICC World Cup.

Read here: Mithali Raj Thinks Women’s Cricket Needs More Exposure

“After thorough discussions with the members of the selection committee and meticulous planning, I feel we have put together the best possible squad. These are the only 50-over matches we play this season and we want to make their optimum use,” Pakistan Head Coach and chief selector Misbah-ul-Haq was quoted as saying in the PCB press release.

“Over the course of my cricketing career, I have realised there are no easy games and there are no easy opponents in cricket. The five boys, who have been recalled, were straightforward selections,” Misbah said on the returning players. “This is, however, a perfect opportunity for these players to prove their mettle in international cricket and cement their place in the one-day side,” he further added.

The series against Sri Lanka became a hurdle after Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) revealed last week that they received a warning from their Prime Minister’s Office. Even some Sri Lankan players including T20I captain Lasith Malinga, Angelo Mathews and Dimuth Karunaratne have opted out from the series as they don’t want to tour to Pakistan. Although that was purely based on security reasons, the series will be played at its scheduled time and place as well.

Pakistan Squad: Sarfaraz Ahmed (Captain), Babar Azam (Vice-captain), Abid Ali, Asif Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Sohail, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Shadab Khan, Usman Shinwari, Wahab Riaz