IPL 2024
Ian Bishop Shuts Down Trolls Criticizing Shreyas Iyer’s Leadership
By CricShots - May 6, 2024 4:42 pm
Views 52

Former West Indies cricketer Ian Bishop recently stood up against trolls on social media, addressing misconceptions about Kolkata Knight Riders’ (KKR) performance. After KKR’s convincing victory against Lucknow Super Giants (LSG), Bishop noted a tendency among some fans to attribute KKR’s wins to Gautam Gambhir and losses to Shreyas Iyer.

Shreyas Iyer
Shreyas Iyer

Responding to comments on his Twitter thread, Bishop engaged with multiple fans, refuting their criticisms of Shreyas Iyer. Returning to the KKR franchise after a year, the Indian middle-order batsman faced challenges due to a previous back injury that sidelined him in 2023.

ALSO READ: ICC Acknowledges Terrorist Threat To T20 World Cup 2024: Ensures Robust Security Measures

Under Iyer’s captaincy, KKR currently leads the Indian Premier League points table with 8 wins from 11 games, positioning them strongly for the playoffs this season. After the game, Ian Bishop took to Twitter, questioning whether fans would acknowledge Shreyas Iyer’s contributions, especially after KKR’s impressive win against LSG.


Despite KKR’s success, some fans directed criticism towards Shreyas, attributing the team’s turnaround solely to Gautam Gambhir. The Twitter thread captures the detailed conversation between Bishop and fans, shedding light on the discourse surrounding KKR’s performance and leadership dynamics.


While KKR has demonstrated collective success this season, Shreyas Iyer’s personal form has been inconsistent. Omitted from India’s T20 World Cup 2024 squad, Shreyas aims for a strong resurgence in the limited-overs format. Preceding the IPL, Shreyas faced exclusion from the Indian Test side due to ongoing struggles in the longer format of the game.

ALSO READ: Aakash Chopra Raises Concerns Over Indian Players’ Form After Shivam Dube’s Golden Duck

Kolkata Knight Riders Squad: Philip Salt (wk), Sunil Narine, Angkrish Raghuvanshi, Shreyas Iyer (c), Venkatesh Iyer, Rinku Singh, Andre Russell, Ramandeep Singh , Mitchell Starc, Varun Chakaravarthy, Harshit Rana, Anukul Roy, Manish Pandey, Vaibhav Arora, Srikar Bharat, Sherfane Rutherford, Chetan Sakariya, Dushmantha Chameera, Nitish Rana, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Sakib Hussain, Suyash Sharma, Allah Ghazanfar