ICC adds Nepalese Representation in the World XI Team
By P - May 16, 2018 5:01 pm
Views 23
Share Post

The International Cricket Council (ICC) had declared the full World XI squad which will play against West Indies team for the organized charity match. The one-0ff T20I match will be played at the Lord’s on 31st May. However, ICC had to make a last-minute change as one cricketer withdrew his name citing personal reasons.

Photo: Lords Cricket Ground

In the international ensemble, ICC had announced names of two Bangladeshi players, Tamim Iqbal and Shakib Al Hasan. The all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan, however, has excused himself out of the team due to personal reason. ICC has replaced him with the 17-year old legspinner from Nepal, Sandeep Lamichhane.

ALSO READ: IPL 2018: Sandeep Lamichhane’s maiden IPL wicket

The sensation from Nepal was scouted by the Australian cricketer Michael Clarke who trained him at his academy. Sandeep soon made it to the Nepal national team and has made a name for himself in a very short time span. He was bought by Delhi Daredevils and recently took his first IPL wicket in the first match he played against Royal Challengers Bangalore.

Sandeep LamichhaneThe charity match will be played for the cause of development in Windies. Other big names playing consists of Afghanistan’s superstar Rashid Khan along with India’s duo of Dinesh Karthik and Hardik Pandya. The team will be led by current English Captain Eoin Morgan.

Apart from these, ICC had already declared the names of Pakistan t20 freelance all-rounder Shoaib Malik and the legend Shahid Afridi. Sri Lankan all-rounder Thisara Perera will also be a part of the squad. The New Zealand duo of the fast bowler McClenaghan and the wicketkeeper Ronchi fulfill the vacancies.

ALSO READ: Eoin Morgan To Lead World XI Against Windies At Lord’s

The team of World XI will play against the T20I World Champions West Indies. Chris Gayle, Marlon Samuels, Carlos Brathwaite, Evin Lewis will be representing the Caribbean regions. Andre Russell will make his return to the national team for the first time after him completing the implied one-year ban.

The match is being organized to raise funds for the reconstruction of stadiums that were damaged in the Caribbean last year by Hurricanes Irma and Maria. Full World XI squad is as follows –

World XI squad: Eoin Morgan (c), Dinesh Karthik (wk), Mitchell McClenaghan, Hardik Pandya, Thisara Perera, Rashid Khan, Luke Ronchi (wk), Shahid Afridi, Shoaib Malik, Tamim Iqbal, Sandeep Lamichhane.