ICC Announces New Tournament On The Occasion Of Women’s Day
By CricShots - Mar 8, 2021 6:04 pm
Views 72

On the occasion of International Women’s Day, the International Cricket Council (ICC) has made an announcement regarding the expansion of women’s cricket events post the 2023 cycle. More teams will compete in both the Women’s World Cup and the Women’s T20 World Cup from 2026 onwards as part of the ICC is committed to widening their horizon for the sport globally. 

Australia World Cup winning women’s team

The revised formats will give more teams the chance to show their talent in front of the world and importantly provides members with a window to work on the domestic growth of the game as the changes take place. Two 50-over World Cups will be played in 2025 and 2029 while four T20 World Cups have been scheduled for 2024, 2026, 2028, and 2030.

ALSO READ: Joe Root And Ben Stokes Congratulated Team India After Series Win

Describing the same, ICC Chief Executive, Manu Sawhney said, “We have been building momentum around the women’s game for the last four years investing in global broadcast coverage and marketing to drive fan engagement. The results speak for themselves with the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2020 attracting record numbers, 1.1 billion video views, making it the most-watched women’s cricket event of all time and having 86,174 fans attending the final at the MCG.”

Team India

He further added, “This decision to expand our women’s events builds on these foundations and allows us to give more member countries greater opportunities to compete on a global stage. This means that more teams will also get the opportunity to compete in the qualification pathways for the respective ICC events over the coming years. I am sure these initiatives will go a long way in helping us achieve our strategic goal of continuing to build strength in the women’s game.”

ALSO READ: Shikhar Dhawan Became Child With Kuldeep, Rohit Sharma, And Pant

In 2020, the Women’s T20 World Cup final was contested between Australia and India in front of a record audience at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG). More than 80,000 people turned up to watch Australia lift the title.