ICC Announces Star-Studded ODI Team of 2023: Six Indians Shine Bright
By CricShots - Jan 23, 2024 3:52 pm
Views 22

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has unveiled its ODI Team of 2023, featuring six outstanding Indian players, showcasing their stellar performances throughout the year. The team is well-balanced and includes top-notch players from Australia, South Africa, and New Zealand.

Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma

Indian cricket stalwarts Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli headline the team, both playing pivotal roles in India’s impressive journey to the 2023 ODI World Cup final. Rohit, the second-highest run-scorer in the tournament, contributed significantly to India’s unbeaten run. Meanwhile, Kohli’s extraordinary performances earned him the Player of the Tournament award.

Shubman Gill, Mohammed Shami, Kuldeep Yadav, and Mohammed Siraj join the star duo in the lineup. Gill, despite being affected by dengue before the World Cup, emerged as the leading run-scorer in ODIs for the calendar year.

ALSO READ: Rinku Singh Inclusions Bolster India A Squad Against England Lions

Australia’s Travis Head, a standout performer in their victorious World Cup campaign, secured his place with a memorable century in the final against India. All-rounder Daryl Mitchell showcased his prowess by amassing 1204 runs in 2023, including two centuries against India in the World Cup.

South African duo Heinrich Klaasen and Marco Jansen earned their spots with exceptional performances. Klaasen’s aggressive batting, highlighted by a stunning 174 against Australia, was instrumental. Jansen, a consistent performer with both bat and ball, bolstered South Africa’s campaign.


Adam Zampa, the second-highest wicket-taker in the World Cup, represents Australia as the leg-spinner in the team. Kuldeep Yadav, with 49 wickets in ODIs last year, provides a potent spin option alongside Zampa.

The pace attack is spearheaded by India’s Mohammed Shami, who enjoyed a memorable World Cup with 24 wickets, finishing as the leading wicket-taker. Mohammed Siraj, with 43 wickets in 2023, showcased his brilliance, including a remarkable 6/21 against Sri Lanka in the Asia Cup final.

ALSO READ: Jasprit Bumrah Reflects On Captaincy Stint, Open To Permanent Role

This ICC ODI Team of 2023 reflects the exceptional performances and contributions of these players to their respective teams, making it a formidable and well-rounded lineup.

ICC ODI Team of 2023: Rohit Sharma (captain), Shubman Gill, Travis Head, Virat Kohli, Daryl Mitchell, Heinrich Klaasen, Marco Jansen, Adam Zampa, Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami