ICC Match Referee Gives Average Rating To Pitches In Nagpur And Delhi
By CricShots - Feb 24, 2023 3:39 pm
Views 66

The pitches used during India’s and Australia’s Test matches in Nagpur and Delhi have received an average rating from ICC match referee Andy Pycroft. The ratings will be uploaded on the ICC website but the news agency PTI reported that match referee Andy Pycroft hasn’t given any adverse report about the tracks for the first couple of Tests.

Australian experts accuse India of pitch doctoring

While the Australian media have often raised concerns over the pitch conditions in Nagpur, where the visitors got bundled out for 177 and 91 in both innings, India managed to amass 400 in their lone innings. On Day 3 in Delhi, the Australian batters were unable to adjust to the up-and-down nature of the track and lost the last nine wickets for 52 runs in their second innings.

ALSO READ: Deepak Chahar Feels He Can Contribute As Much As Hardik Pandya Can For India

While Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja completely dominated the opposition in both games, an “Average” rating means the venue received no demerit points. There are six distinct classifications — Very Good, Good, Average, Below Average, Poor and Unfit. Only when a pitch is rated below average, poor, or unfit does it attracts demerit points.

Arun Jaitley Stadium
Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi

The Nagpur venue had once earlier been suspended when the Test between India and South Africa ended in two days with the ball turning square from the first hour.

India will play the third Test in Indore from March 1 onwards, while the final game of the 4-match series will be held in Ahmedabad from March 9. The first ODI between Australia and India is in Mumbai on March 17, before the remaining two Tests in Vizag (March 19) and Chennai (March 22).

ALSO READ: Pat Cummins Will Not Be Playing The Indore Test Against India

India’s Test squad for the last Two Tests against Australia: Rohit Sharma (Captain), K L Rahul, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, KS Bharat (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Umesh Yadav and Jaydev Unadkat.