ICC’s FTP For Test Championship and ODI League Announced
By CricShots - Jun 20, 2018 4:51 pm
Views 24
Share Post

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced the Future Tours Programme (FTP) for the much-talked-about World Test Championship, that is scheduled to be played between 2019 and 2021, on Wednesday.

Virat Kohli with Test maze

Last year, the ICC approved a Test championship comprising of top 9 teams in ICC rankings, playing each other over a two year period. Each team will play a minimum of six series which will conclude with the top 2 playing in the Test championship final — which is likely to be held in Lord’s.

The 13-team ODI league will comprise of 12 Test playing nations and the winner of World Cricket League Championship — Netherlands. Every tournament in the ODI league will comprise of just three matches and it will be held from 2020 to 2022. The ICC also confirmed that not every series will either play both World Test Championship and ODI league or at least one of them. The international cricket body insisted that Ashes 2019 and 2021-22 will have its own separate identity.

ALSO READ: Ravindra Jadeja Comes back To The Top-3 Position In ICC Rankings

The ODI League will be suspended a year before the World Cup which means that a series can have more than three ODIs during this period. The top eight teams after the end of the ODI league will get direct entry into the World Cup, while World Cup qualifiers will decide the fate of other teams.

Virat Kohli (L) and Ajinkya Rahane (R)

According to the new FTP, Afghanistan, and Ireland — the teams which acquired Test status recently — won’t be a part of the Test Championship. Afghanistan is scheduled to play against Australia in the longest format in 2020. While their Trans-Tasman rival New Zealand will travel to Sri Lanka before hosting England, Australia, and India.

Here is the schedule of the complete FTP:

ALSO READ: Sunil Gavaskar Supports The 10-Team ICC World Cup