India A Players Marvel At Virat Kohli’s Heroics At The MCG
By CricShots - Jul 18, 2023 5:58 pm
Views 35

India A, captained by Yash Dhull, is set to face Pakistan A in the 2023 ACC Emerging Teams Asia Cup at the R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo on July 19. Both teams have won their previous two matches and currently occupy the top two spots in Group B. Ahead of the highly anticipated clash, several India A players expressed their admiration for Virat Kohli’s exceptional innings against Pakistan in the 2022 T20 World Cup at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG).

Virat Kohli
The chase master – Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli’s unbeaten 82 off 53 deliveries played a pivotal role in India’s thrilling four-wicket victory over their arch-rivals. The former Indian captain himself regarded it as his finest T20I knock. Abhishek Sharma, hailing from Punjab, lauded Kohli’s incredible effort that rescued India from a difficult situation and left a lasting impact on young cricketers. He acknowledged that the game seemed lost, but Kohli’s unwavering determination turned the tide in India’s favor.


Recalling the match, Riyan Parag shared his experience of watching it with friends at a cafe. Initially doubting Kohli’s ability to secure a win, Parag was inspired by the star batter’s immense focus and skill.

ALSO READ: Harbhajan Singh Hails Shubman Gill’s Exceptional Talent And Hunger For Runs

Young batting sensation Sai Sudharsan also expressed his awe at Kohli’s superhuman performance. He particularly highlighted a shot played by Kohli, which instilled in him the belief that he too could achieve such excellence.

India A enters the game against Pakistan A with momentum after a comprehensive nine-wicket victory over Nepal A. Nishant Sindhu played a crucial role, taking four wickets to help restrict Nepal A to 167 runs. Rohit Paudel top-scored for Nepal A with 65 runs. Rajvardhan Hangargekar contributed with three wickets, while Harshit Rana claimed two.

ALSO READ: Nathan Lyon Opens Up About Controversial Stumping Incident At Lord’s

In the chase, Abhishek Sharma smashed 87 off 69 balls, and Sudharshan remained unbeaten on 58 off 52 deliveries, providing a fiery start with a 139-run opening partnership. Despite Paudel dismissing Abhishek, Dhruv Jurel contributed an unbeaten 21 to guide India A to victory in the 23rd over.