India Legends To Play With Bangladesh In Road Safety Series On March 5
By CricShots - Feb 24, 2021 11:57 am
Views 51

Indian legends will be locking horns with their Bangladesh counterparts in the first match of the Road Safety World Series at the Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh International Cricket Stadium in Raipur on March 5. England legends will also be playing their first game against Bangladesh on March 7 while India will take on the English side in their second match on March 9.

Road Safety World Series
Captains of the Road Safety World Series teams

The semi-finals of the tournament are slated to be played on March 17 and 19 while the final will take place on March 21. All the matches will start at 7:00 pm IST. A plethora of cricketing stalwarts will be featuring the tournament including, Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag, Brian Lara, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Muttiah Muralitharan, and many more legends of six cricket playing nations — England, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies, Bangladesh, and hosts India.

ALSO READ: Ishant Sharma Receives Messages Ahead Of His 100th Test

All these players will be seen back on the cricket field to recreate the magic of old in the annual T20 cricket tournament, organized to create awareness towards road safety in the country.

Sachin Tendulkar during the Road Safety Series

The newly-built 65,000 capacity stadium in Raipur will be featuring 50 percent of the crowd attendance as per the instructions issued by the Central Government. Last week, Australia legends pulled out of the tournament citing an inability to travel due to strict COVID-19 restrictions Down Under.

As cricket is the most followed sport in the country and cricketers are looked upon as idols, this league aims to influence and change people’s mindset towards their behavior on the roads.

ALSO READ: Virat Kohli Feels Pacers Will Play A Big Role In The Day-night Test

The Road Safety World Series is an initiative by the Road Safety Cell of Maharashtra in association with the Professional Management Group (PMG) spearheaded by Sunil Gavaskar as the Commissioner of the Series and Sachin Tendulkar is the brand ambassador of the league. The first edition of the series eventually got called off after the first four matches on March 11 last year due to the Covid-19 situation worldwide.