India U-19 Team’s Commanding Start In World Cup Opener Amidst On-field Heated Exchange
By CricShots - Jan 20, 2024 7:16 pm
Views 103

In their opening match of the U-19 World Cup against Bangladesh, defending champions India displayed a robust performance. After being put into bat, India faced early setbacks with the dismissals of Arshin Kulkarni and Musheer Khan, leaving the team at 31/2 in 7.2 overs.

India U-19
India U-19 locked horns with Bangladesh U-19

However, the opening pair of Adarsh Singh and captain Uday Saharan turned the tide by constructing a crucial partnership that contributed 116 runs for the third wicket. Adarsh Singh played a pivotal role, scoring a commendable 76 before being dismissed.

ALSO READ: Zaheer Khan Questions England’s ‘Bazball’ Approach As India-England Test Series Looms

During the partnership, a heated exchange occurred between India’s captain Uday Saharan and Bangladesh’s Ariful Islam, leading to a face-to-face confrontation. The situation was defused by Bangladesh captain Mahfuzur Rahman Rabby and the umpire before it escalated further.


Despite the on-field tensions, India managed to post a competitive total. Bangladesh, who won the toss and chose to bowl, faced a spirited Indian batting display. The match witnessed several fiery send-offs by Bangladesh players towards their Indian counterparts.


Uday Saharan, at 19 years old, captains the Indian U-19 team in the World Cup and is the squad’s oldest member. His leadership was evident as he guided the team through a challenging situation.

ALSO READ: Michael Atherton Foresees Spin Dominance As England Braces for Indian Challenge

Uday has shown promising performances in seven ODIs, accumulating 197 runs in six innings with an impressive average of 39.40, including a century and a half-century. As India continues its campaign in the U-19 World Cup, Uday Saharan’s captaincy will be crucial in navigating through competitive encounters.

India U19 Playing XI: Adarsh Singh, Arshin Kulkarni, Musheer Khan, Uday Saharan (C), Sachin Dhas, Priyanshu Moliya, Aravelly Avanish (Wk), Murugan Abhishek, Aaradhya Shukla, Raj Limbani, Naman Tiwari.

Bangladesh Playing XI: Ashiqur Rahman Shibli (wk), Jishan Alam, Chowdhury Md Rizwan, Ariful Islam, Ahrar Amin, Mohammad Shihab James, Mahfuzur Rahman Rabby (C), Sheikh Paevez Jibon, Rohanat Doullah Borson, Md Iqbal Hossain Emmon, Maruf Mridha.