Twitter Reaction
India vs Afghanistan (One-off Test): Twitter Reactions
By Sandy - Jun 15, 2018 7:32 pm
Views 44
Share Post

The no.1 Test ranking team India thrashed the new Test team Afghanistan just under the second day of the one-off Test match at Bengaluru. In that historic encounter, India won by an innings and 262 runs.

On Thursday morning, Afghanistan became the 12th Test members when their captain Asghar Stanikzai came to toss but lost and had to bowl first.

Both the Indian openers scored centuries in the first innings. Shikhar Dhawan played the smashing knock of 107 runs off 96 balls while Murali Vijay scored 105 runs off 153 balls. Also, the no.3 batsman KL Rahul scored 54 runs.

The openers 168-run partnership set a good total for the team. However, India suffered a batting collapse in the next stage as they went down to 334/6 from 280/1. Hardik Pandya played an important innings of 71 runs off 94 balls and the lower-orders also helped to provide some important partnerships.

Finally, India was bowled out for 474 runs during the first session on day 2. Pacer Yamin Ahmadzai, who delivered the first ball for Afghanistan in their Test cricket history as well as Afghanistan’s first Test wicket-taker, took the most wickets as his bowling figure was 19-7-51-3.

Also, Wafadar (2/100) and Rashid Khan (2/154) got two wickets each while Mohammad Nabi (1/65) and Mujeeb Ur Rahman (1/75) picked up one wicket each.

In reply, Afghanistan was bundled out for just 109 runs in their first ever Test innings. Only Mohammad Nabi (24 runs) reached the 20-run mark in that innings.

Indian off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin (4/27) picked up 4 wickets in that innings, while Ishant Sharma (2/28) and Ravindra Jadeja (2/18) scalped two wickets each and Umesh Yadav (1/18) completed his 100th Test wicket by claiming one wicket.

Having a big 365-run lead at the end of the first innings fight, India forced the new Test team for the follow-on. This time the Afghan team was bundled out for just 103 runs. Only Hashmatullah Shahidi (36* runs) and the skipper Asghar Stanikzai (25 runs) reached the 20-run mark.

This time, Ravindra Jadeja (4/17) earned four wickets while Umesh Yadav (3/26), Ishant Sharma (2/17) and Ravichandran Ashwin (1/32) claimed three, two and one wickets respectively.

At the end of the match, Shikhar Dhawan won the Player of the Match award.

Here are some Twitter reactions: