India Women’s Dominance: Quickest Innings In Asian Games Debut
By CricShots - Sep 21, 2023 12:31 pm
Views 20

The Indian women’s cricket team made a remarkable start in their Asian Games campaign as they posted a massive total of 173 runs in just 15 overs against Malaysia at the Pingfeng Campus Cricket Field in Hangzhou. The Indian batters displayed a dominant performance, taking advantage of an ordinary Malaysian bowling attack and capitalizing on some lapses in fielding by the opposition.

india women
India women’s team

The opening duo of Shafali Verma and Smriti Mandhana got India off to a flying start, putting together a quickfire fifty-run partnership. Although Mandhana departed shortly after, Verma continued her stellar form and notched up 67 runs off just 39 balls. Jemimah Rodrigues also contributed effectively, adding 47 runs to the team’s total.

The innings concluded on a high note with a blistering cameo from Richa Ghosh, who scored 21 runs off a mere seven balls. A rain break during the innings resulted in a reduction of overs to 15.

ALSO READ: Team India Gears Up For Asian Games: More Than A Squad, They’re Friends Like Family

Due to the absence of regular captain Harmanpreet Kaur, Smriti Mandhana took charge as the captain for this match. The focus now shifts to the Indian bowlers, as they aim to dismiss the Malaysian innings swiftly and secure a convincing victory for India.


In addition to the women’s team, the Indian men’s cricket team is also gearing up for their participation in the Asian Games. The men’s event will feature 15 teams competing for the top medal, commencing on September 27, with the bronze and gold medal match scheduled for October 7.

ALSO READ: Harbhajan Singh Picks His World Cup Semifinalists And Shares Views

Cricket returns to the Asian Games after its exclusion in 2018, much to the delight of cricket enthusiasts. India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and Bangladesh have already secured their spots in the quarterfinals based on their ICC rankings.

The remaining 11 teams are vying for the four remaining quarterfinal berths. These teams have been divided into four groups, and only the group winners will advance to the next stage of the competition, promising an exciting contest on the cricketing front.