Indian Fans Celebrate Rohit Sharma, ‘India ka Raja’, as Team India Returns Home
By CricShots - Jul 4, 2024 8:55 pm
Views 56

Team India, who recently clinched the ICC T20 World Cup 2024 in the Caribbean, returned to home soil on Thursday after being stranded in Barbados due to inclement weather. The victorious squad, led by skipper Rohit Sharma, secured a thrilling 7-run win over South Africa in the final, ending the nation’s long drought for an ICC trophy.

Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma 

The team is scheduled to embark on a celebratory open-top bus parade through Mumbai on Thursday, culminating in a grand felicitation ceremony at the iconic Wankhede Stadium. Fans from all over the country have flocked to the historic cricket ground, chanting the name of their beloved captain, Rohit Sharma, and hailing him as ‘India ka Raja’ (The King of India).

The triumphant men in blue landed in Delhi early in the morning and met with the Honourable Prime Minister of India, Shri Narendra Modi, to celebrate their success. The Prime Minister’s warm reception added to the joyous atmosphere, with players and officials revelling in their remarkable achievements.

WATCH – Team India Receives Water Cannon Salute On Arrival In Mumbai

Following their meeting with the Prime Minister, the team travelled to Mumbai for the parade and the felicitation ceremony on Vistara Flight UK1845. This special flight was a touching tribute to Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma, both of whom announced their retirement from T20 cricket after this victorious campaign.


Calls for fans to gather at the Wankhede Stadium to celebrate the memorable triumph were enthusiastically answered. Despite the rain, cricket enthusiasts filled the stadium in a matter of minutes, eager to join in the celebration. The atmosphere was electric as supporters eagerly awaited the arrival of their heroes.

ALSO READ: Fans Gather In Huge Numbers At Wankhede Stadium For Team India’s Grand Celebration

This victory marks India’s second T20 World Cup title, coming 17 years after their triumph in the inaugural edition in 2007 under the leadership of MS Dhoni. It also ended an 11-year drought for ICC silverware, following India’s win in the 2013 ICC Champions Trophy and the 2011 ODI World Cup, both of which were also under the charismatic captaincy of Dhoni.