Twitter Reaction
Indian Fans Were Unhappy As Virat Kohli Got One- Short With His Running Tactics
By CricShots - Oct 3, 2022 10:50 am
Views 50

India and South Africa locked horns with each other in the second T20I of the three-match series at the Barsapara Cricket Stadium in Guwahati. Th Indian stalwart, Virat Kohli is often known for revolutionizing athleticism in Indian cricket. However, he was found guilty of something rare on Sunday after the umpires adjudged him accountable for ‘one short’ during the Guwahati T20I. 

Virat Kohli
Virat Kohli denied the single in the final over

Earlier in the game the South African skipper, Temba Bavuma won the toss and decided to bowl first citing the dampness on the pitch. While, the Indian skipper, Rohit Sharma made no changes to the winning XI, the Proteas included Lungi Ngidi in place of Tabraiz Shamsi.

WATCH – Babar Azam Drops Catches In The Final T20 Against England

With the 16-run win in the second T20I, India has taken an unassailable 2-0 lead in the three-match T20I series, are on the driving seat against South Africa. The Men in Blue amassed as many as 237/3 in their quota of overs. Suryakumar Yadav was again at his ferocious best, as he amassed 61 off 22 balls as he made a partnership with Virat Kohli, who scored 49 off 28 balls. 

During the 14th over of India’s innings, a surprising incident took place in Guwahati which was never anticipated by the spectators.  On the fifth ball of the over, bowled by Wayne Parnell, Kohli flicked the delivery to the square leg region and was eager to take a couple of runs. 

WATCH – Players Witness A Snake In Guwahati During T20 Between India And South Africa

However, he was centimeters short of dragging his bat past the line while completing the first run, and as a result, the on-field umpire only awarded a single run. It was a rare sight on the cricket field, especially considering Kohli’s excellent fitness, and for obvious reasons, the Indian fans did not take much time to react to that. However, he missed his 34th T20I half-century.

Here is the video of the incident involving Virat Kohli:

Another incident took place in the final over, Virat Kohli was batting on 49 off 28, but it was Dinesh Karthik who was on strike for the final over. Karthik, India’s designated finisher, missed the first ball but found the boundary off the next delivery. Then he smashed the wide delivery away for a six. After the hit, he walked over to Kohli and seemingly asked the former skipper if he wanted strike, with him needing just one run for a half-century, and two deliveries remaining in the innings.

Here is how the Indian fans reacted to the incident:

×