Indian Squad Announced For Asian Games T20: Ruturaj Gaikwad to Lead Young Side
By CricShots - Jul 15, 2023 1:09 pm
Views 75

Ruturaj Gaikwad has been named the captain of the Indian men’s squad for the upcoming Asian Games T20 competition. The 15-member squad includes several uncapped players in T20 internationals, such as Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, and Jitesh Sharma. Due to the men’s ODI World Cup starting on October 5, just two days before the end of the Asian Games cricket competition, the BCCI has opted for a second-string men’s side.

Ruturaj Gaikwad
Ruturaj Gaikwad

In contrast, the women’s squad for the Hangzhou competition is at full strength. Of note, Rinku Singh, who showcased his power-hitting and finishing skills for the Kolkata Knight Riders in the IPL, earned his first national call-up. Jitesh Sharma, a finisher from Vidarbha and Punjab Kings, also secured a place in the squad after being left out of the T20Is in the Caribbean and USA.

This presents an opportunity for all-rounder Washington Sundar and his Sunrisers Hyderabad teammate Rahul Tripathi to prove their T20 prowess once again. Both players were part of the T20I series against New Zealand earlier this year but were omitted for the upcoming T20Is against West Indies. They have been actively participating in T20 cricket through tournaments like the Tamil Nadu Premier League (TNPL) and Maharashtra Premier League (MPL).

ALSO READ: Yashasvi Jaiswal Says Debut Test Performance Is Just The Beginning

Prithvi Shaw, selected for West Zone’s squad in the Deodhar Trophy, did not make it to the Asian Games squad. After the Deodhar Trophy, he will travel to the UK for a county stint with Northamptonshire.

The spin attack will feature Bengal and Royal Challengers Bangalore left-arm spinner Shahbaz Ahmed, along with Washington and Bishnoi. Shivam Dube, who did not bowl for the Chennai Super Kings in IPL 2023 due to a finger injury, has recovered sufficiently and is the sole seam-bowling all-rounder in the squad. He has also been named in the West Zone squad for the Deodhar Trophy.

Venkatesh Iyer is among the reserve players for the Asian Games squad, along with B Sai Sudharsan, who made waves with his impressive knock of 96 off 47 balls in the IPL 2023 final for the Gujarat Titans against CSK. R Sai Kishore, who has served as a net bowler for the Indian teams, is also on the standby list. Prabhsimran Singh from Punjab has been selected as the second wicketkeeper after Jitesh.

WATCH – Ishan Kishan Channels Alex Carey with Cheeky Stumping Attempt

Cricket has been included in the Asian Games twice before, in 2010 and 2014, but India did not participate on those occasions. As in the previous editions, the cricket event in Hangzhou will be played in the T20 format. The men’s cricket competition at the Asian Games is scheduled to take place from September 28 to October 8.

India men’s squad: Ruturaj Gaikwad (capt), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Rahul Tripathi, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Washington Sundar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Ravi Bishnoi, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Mukesh Kumar, Shivam Mavi, Shivam Dube, Prabhsimran Singh (wk)

Stand-bys: Yash Thakur, R Sai Kishore, Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Hooda, B Sai Sudharsan