India’s Best XI Comprising Of Unselected Players for The T20 World Cup
By CricShots - Sep 14, 2022 11:48 am
Views 4.1K

The upcoming edition of the T20 World Cup 2022 is scheduled to be commencing in less than a month in Australia. The tournament kicks off on October 16 and the final is scheduled to be played on November 13. As many as 45 matches will be played during the tournament. It will be quite interesting to see which team will make it all the way to the final and win the upcoming edition of the T20 World Cup.

Sanju Samson
Sanju Samson failed to be selected in the T20 World Cup squad

Meanwhile, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced the 15-member squad for the marquee event on Monday. Under the captaincy of Rohit Sharma, Team India will be locking horns with Pakistan in their opening fixture of the marquee event on October 23 at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

Team India is part of group 2 in the competition along with Pakistan, South Africa, Bangladesh, and a qualifying team in their pool. On the other hand, some players failed to make the cut in the Indian squad for the T20 World Cup. Let’s take a look at the best XI that was not selected for the tournament.


Ruturaj Gaikwad
Ruturaj Gaikwad

The young openers, namely Ishan Kishan and Ruturaj Gaikwad, have earned a name for themselves in international and domestic cricket. Unfortunately, they missed out on the T20 World Cup squad.


Rahul Tripathi was included in the Indian squad when the senior cricketers were rested for the series. However, he might as well come at No.3 in this squad. Shreyas Iyer can be expected to bat at no.4 in this XI.

Iyer has been named on the standby list of players for the T20 World Cup. Meanwhile, Sanju Samson who is well-suited to play in Australian conditions failed to make the cut in India’s squad and he can be the no.5 in the squad.


Shardul Thakur
Shardul Thakur

Shardul Thakur possesses a plethora of all-around experience under his belt. Unfortunately, he misses out on featuring in the upcoming T20 World Cup. Even Venkatesh Iyer had done a pretty decent job bating at no.6 for India earlier this year in the Sri Lankan series.


Four names from the bowling unit didn’t make the cut to the main squad of the marquee event. They are none other than Deepak Chahar, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, and Ravi Bishnoi. In fact, Chahar, Shami, and Bishnoi are named on the standby list.

Best XI who didn’t make the cut in India’s squad for T20 WC 2022

Ishan Kishan, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Rahul Tripathi, Shreyas Iyer, Sanju Samson, Venkatesh Iyer, Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, and Ravi Bishnoi.