India’s Young Guns Set for Zimbabwe Tour: Shubman Gill to Lead, IPL Stars Receive Maiden Call-Up
By CricShots - Jun 24, 2024 6:33 pm
Views 20

While the cricketing world’s attention remains firmly on the T20 World Cup 2024, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) is quietly preparing for the upcoming tour of Zimbabwe, which will feature a series of five T20 Internationals starting on July 6. This tour is expected to showcase the next generation of Indian cricketing talent, as senior players like Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, and Jasprit Bumrah are set to be rested.

Abhishek Sharma
Abhishek Sharma receives maiden clal-up

Additionally, Hardik Pandya and Suryakumar Yadav have reportedly declined to join the team for the Zimbabwe series. According to a report by the Indian Express, Shubman Gill is likely to be appointed as the captain of the Indian team for the Zimbabwe tour in the absence of stalwarts like Rohit, Hardik, and Suryakumar.

The squad will feature several stars from the Indian Premier League (IPL), including Abhishek Sharma, Riyan Parag, Nitish Kumar Reddy, Tushar Deshpande, and Harshit Rana. In addition, players such as Sanju Samson, Yashasvi Jaiswal, and Rinku Singh, who are currently touring the USA and West Indies with the Indian team for the T20 World Cup, are expected to be part of the Zimbabwe squad.

WATCH – Hardik Pandya Dissects His Finishing Abilities in T20 World Cup 2024

Shubman Gill, who traveled with the Indian team to the USA as a reserve player, was sent back to India along with pacer Avesh Khan. Both are anticipated to play pivotal roles in the Zimbabwe series. With ongoing speculation about Gautam Gambhir’s appointment as India’s new head coach, National Cricket Academy head VVS Laxman is expected to lead the coaching staff for the Zimbabwe tour, accompanied by a few other coaches.


The new head coach, likely to be Gambhir, is anticipated to assume his duties starting with the tour of Sri Lanka, which begins on July 27. This period of transition and opportunity will be crucial for the young Indian players, offering them a platform to shine on the international stage and stake their claims for future selections.

ALSO READ: Naveen ul Haq Makes A Cryptic Post That Captivates Fans

India’s probable squad for Zimbabwe T20I series: Shubman Gill (c), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Rinku Singh, Sanju Samson (wk), Abhishek Sharma, Nitish Reddy, Harshit Rana, Yash Dayal, Khalil Ahmed, Avesh Khan, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi, Riyan Parag, Rajat Patidar, Dhruv Jurel (wk)