Injured JP Duminy and Hashim Amla will miss the Australia Tour; Chris Morris returns from injury
By Sandy - Oct 17, 2018 11:50 pm
Views 74

South African ODI and T20I squads have been announced for the upcoming limited-overs tour in Australia. JP Duminy and Hashim Amla are going to miss the entire tour due to their respective injuries while the 31-year-old bowling all-rounder Chris Morris has returned to the national squad after recovering from the injury.

Hashim Amla and JP Duminy

South Africa will play three-match ODI series and one-off T20I in their upcoming Australia tour, starting on November 4. Prior to that limited-overs series, South Africa will also play a 50-over warm-up game against Prime Minister’s XI. Both the squads are totally similar, where JP Duminy & Hashim Amla both have missed and Chris Morris & Farhaan Behardien have returned to the national squad for the first time after last February.

Also read: Rishabh Pant selected in the first two ODIs squad of Windies series  

While Amla is suffering from the finger injury that he suffered during the Caribbean Premier League 2018, JP Duminy has been ruled out from the upcoming Australia tour as well as the inaugural Mzansi Super League due to he has to undergo a shoulder surgery.

Hashim Amla


JP Duminy

Meanwhile, Chris Morris and Farhaan Behardien both have returned to the national squad after almost eight months later. During the IPL 2018, Morris picked up a back injury and then he was ruled out from the Sri Lanka tour as well as the home series against Zimbabwe. However, he recently performed well with the ball during a first-class game against Warriors as the Titans’ right-arm pacer Morris picked up six wickets (6/66) in the first innings of the match.

Chris Morris


Farhaan Behardien

Also, the 29-year-old right-arm pacer Dwaine Pretorius has been included in the squad who played his last international match in October 2017.

Full 15-member South African squad for the Australia tour (for both ODI and T20I series): Faf du Plessis (captain), Farhaan Behardien, Quinton de Kock (wk), Reeza Hendricks, Imran Tahir, Heinrich Klaasen, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Chris Morris, Lungi Ngidi, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Dale Steyn.

Full schedule of South Africa tour of Australia 2018/19

(50-over Warm-up match)

October 31: Prime Minister’s XI vs South Africa – Manuka Oval (Canberra)

(Three-match ODI series)

November 4: First ODI – Perth Stadium (Perth)

November 9: Second ODI – Adelaide Oval (Adelaide)

November 11: Third ODI – Bellerive Oval (Hobart)

(One-off T20I series)

November 17: Only T20I – Carrara Stadium (Gold Coast)