IPL 2018
IPL 2018: Match 23 (MI vs SRH) – Twitter Reactions
By Sandy - Apr 25, 2018 12:32 am
Views 51
Share Post

In the 23rd game of IPL 2018, Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) snatched a remarkable victory in the low scoring away game against the hosts Mumbai Indians (MI) at Wankhede Stadium (Mumbai) on Tuesday night. While SRH put only 118 runs (118/10 in 18.4 overs) on the board, MI failed to chase that in the tough pitch as they were bowled out for just 87 runs in 18.5 overs. SRH won this match by 31 runs which is a good margin of victory in this kind of low-scoring T20 game.

Sunrisers Hyderabad


Mumbai Indians captain Rohit Sharma decided to field first after winning the toss. None of SRH batsmen reached the 30-run mark while skipper & opener Kane Williamson and no.6 batsman Yusuf Pathan were the only SRH batsmen to face 20 or more deliveries in that innings. Both of them also were the only SRH batsmen to reach 20-runs mark as both were dismissed for 29 runs.

While Williamson took the responsibility in the first half of that innings, Yusuf added the important runs on the board in the second half of that innings. SRH only managed to score 118 runs before getting all out in 18.4 overs.

Among the hosts’ bowlers, Mitchell McClenaghan (2/22), Hardik Pandya (2/20) and Mayank Markande (2/15) grabbed two wickets each while Jasprit Bumrah (1/25) and Mustafizur Rahman (1/18) picked up one wicket each.

However, the hosts’ batsmen failed to chase down that low target as they were bundled out for just 87 runs. Only opener Suryakumar Yadav and no.5 batsman Krunal Pandya got the double-digit scores. A superb bowling and great fielding from the SRH team always kept the hosts’ side under pressure in the second innings this game.

While Suryakumar was the highest scorer in this game as he scored 34 runs off 38 balls, Krunal played a 24-run knock off 20 balls. However, those two knocks were not enough to chase that small target in the tough pitch.

Among the SRH bowlers, Siddarth Kaul (3/23) dismissed three MI batsmen while Rashid Khan (2/11) and Basil Thampi (2/4) got two wickets each. Moreover, Sandeep Sharma (1/9), Mohammad Nabi (1/23) and Shakib Al Hasan (1/16) picked up one wicket each.

SRH leg-spinner Rashid Khan was awarded the Player of the Match for his superb bowling effort with 4-0-11-2 bowling figure including 16 dots.

Here are some Twitter reactions of this low-scoring game: