IPL 2019
IPL 2019: Final (MI vs CSK): Mumbai Lifts The Trophy For The 4th Time
By CricShots - May 13, 2019 12:21 am
Views 428
Share Post

The El Classico of the Indian Premier League (IPL) finally lived up to its expectations. It was a humdinger of a game as both the teams looked out of the game at some point in the second innings. But Shane Watson wasn’t ready to give up for the Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and then Jasprit Bumrah played a crucial role for the Mumbai Indians (MI). It eventually came down to Lasith Malinga, despite having a bad day. Who won the game sensationally for them as MI clinched the title for the record fourth time.

Deepak Chahar

The MI openers, Quinton de Kock and Rohit had a slow start as they scored just 10 runs in the first couple of over, but then De Kock decided to go all-out against Deepak Chahar in the third over by smashing as many as three sixes in the over. However, both the openers were soon dismissed in a matter of 4 balls leaving Mumbai at 45/2 before the powerplay got ended.

WATCH – Shardul Thakur Takes A Blinder To Dismiss Krunal Pandya

After their dismissal, Ishan Kishan and Suryakumar Yadav started building a partnership as they scored 37 runs for the third wicket. Before the latter getting dismissed by Imran Tahir in the 12th over. Krunal Pandya came out to bat after that but, he also went back to the pavilion in the very next over of Shardul Thakur, owing to a mind-blowing catch by the bowler.

Kieron Pollard

Soon after that, Ishan also got out and then the onus was on Kieron Pollard and Hardik Pandya. They added 39 runs for the 6th wicket as Hardik was dismissed by Chahar in the penultimate over.  However, Pollard though held his nerves and slammed two boundaries in the last two balls of over to help MI reach the total of 149/8 in 20 overs.

WATCH – Kieron Pollard Launched A Protest Against The Umpires

During the chase, the CSK openers, Faf du Plessis and Shane Watson started slowly as they scored just 33 runs in the first 4 four overs as Faf was dismissed by Krunal Pandya. Raina and Watson started making a partnership as they added 37 runs for the second wicket before, Raina being dismissed by Rahul Chahar in the 10th over. Soon after that, from 70/2 in the 10th over, CSk was reduced to 82/4 in the 13th over as Ambati Rayudu and Dhoni in quick succession.

Mumbai wins it again

Mumbai Bowlers were brilliant

On the fourth ball of the 13th over, Dhoni was run-out owing to a brilliant throw by Kishan and MS had started walking off even before the third umpire pressed the button. After Dhoni’s dismissal, the game was looking in Mumbai favor. But Watson had different plans as in the 18th over of Krunal, he smashed as many as 20 runs with the help of three humungous sixes.

WATCH – Ishan Kishan Runs out MS Dhoni With A Bullet Throw

The equation came down to CSK needing just 9 runs in the final over. Jasprit Bumrah bowled a brilliant penultimate over. Lasith Malinga was bowling the final over and on the 4th ball of the over, Watson got run-out and CSK needed 2 runs on the final ball, but Malinga dismissed Shardul Thakur on the final ball and helped Mumbai to clinch their 4th IPL title.

Brief Scores:

Mumbai Indians – 149/8 in 20 overs (K Pollard: 41*, Q Kock: 28; D Chahar: 3/26, I Tahir 2/23) defeated Chennai Super Kings – 148/7 in 20 overs (S Watson: 80, R Chahar: 1/14, J Bumrah: 2/14) by 1 run

Here is how Twitter reacted to Mumbai’s win: