Fantasy Tips
IPL 2024: Qualifier 1 (KKR vs SRH) – Playing XI and Fantasy XI Predictions
By CricShots - May 20, 2024 10:44 pm
Views 35

The first qualifier of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024 will see the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) face off against the Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on May 21st. KKR finished the regular season at the top of the points table, showcasing a dominant performance throughout the tournament, while SRH secured the second spot, proving their consistency and competitive edge.


Kolkata Knight Riders played a total of 14 matches this season, emerging victorious in nine of them. This solid performance earned them the top position. In contrast, Sunrisers Hyderabad also competed in 14 matches, winning eight. The last league match for KKR against Rajasthan Royals was unfortunately abandoned due to rain, which could have potentially altered the final standings.

In their last match, Sunrisers Hyderabad showcased their resilience by winning against Punjab Kings by 4 wickets. Key contributions came from Abhishek Sharma, who scored a brilliant 66 runs, and Heinrich Klaasen, who added a crucial 42 runs to secure the victory. Historically, KKR and SRH have clashed 26 times in the IPL, with KKR holding a significant advantage by winning 17 of those encounters, while SRH has won 9.

WATCH – Whistle Podu Army Helps RCB Fan: A Heartwarming Tale Amidst IPL 2024 Drama

Although this match is not a do-or-die game, neither team wants to face the pressure of an elimination game. A defeat in this qualifier would place them in a must-win situation in the subsequent match. The pitch at the Narendra Modi Stadium is expected to favour the batters, suggesting a high-scoring contest. It is likely that the captain winning the toss will opt to field first, a common strategy this season due to the chasing advantage.

In terms of head-to-head records, KKR has been dominant, winning 17 out of 26 matches against SRH. Since 2020, KKR has further asserted their superiority, winning seven out of nine face-offs. Both teams have had commendable playoff records, with KKR winning eight and losing five, while SRH has won five and lost six.

As the two teams prepare for this high-stakes encounter, fans can expect a thrilling match filled with intense competition and remarkable performances.

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR)

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR)

Travis Head and Abhishek Sharma are among the few batters who have consistently found success against Sunil Narine. This could prompt Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) to hold back their veteran spinner for the middle and late overs, aiming to contain Heinrich Klaasen, who has a favourable record against KKR’s other spinner, Varun Chakravarthy.

Andre Russell, however, has proven to be a challenge for Abhishek Sharma. In their encounters, Russell has dismissed Abhishek twice in just 10 balls, conceding only 11 runs. It wouldn’t be surprising if KKR decides to deploy the West Indian early to tackle the in-form southpaw.

Probable XI: Rahamanullah Gurbaz (wk), Sunil Narine, Angkrish Raghuvanshi/Nitish Rana, Shreyas Iyer (c), Venkatesh Iyer, Rinku Singh, Andre Russell, Ramandeep Singh , Mitchell Starc, Harshit Rana, Varun Chakaravarthy 

Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH)

Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) pulled off a brilliant win

Andre Russell’s own performance at Ahmedabad hasn’t been stellar, with a strike rate of just under 140 across four innings. Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) bowlers will likely aim to exploit this by forcing him to target the long square boundaries, thereby minimizing his scoring opportunities and capitalizing on his relative struggles at the venue.

Probable XII: Travis Head, Abhishek Sharma, Nitish Reddy, Rahul Tripathi, Heinrich Klaasen (wk), Abdul Samad, Shahbaz Ahmed, Pat Cummins (c), Sanvir Singh, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Vijayakanth Viyaskanth

Fantasy XI Suggestion 1: 

Heinrich Klaasen, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Travis Head, Abhishek Sharma(vc), Venkatesh Iyer, Shreyas Iyer, Sunil Narine(c), Andre Russell, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Varun Chakaravarthy, T Natarajan

Fantasy XI Suggestion 2: 

Heinrich Klaasen, Rinku Singh, Venkatesh Iyer, Travis Head, Sunil Narine (vc), Andre Russell, Pat Cummins (c), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mitchell Starc, Varun Chakravarthy, Harshit Rana, T Natarajan