IPL 2024
Jasprit Bumrah Dismisses Sunil Narine On A Golden Duck
By CricShots - May 11, 2024 9:43 pm
Views 24

The Mumbai Indians made a promising start in the IPL 2024 match against the Kolkata Knight Riders, claiming the wickets of both KKR openers within seven balls. Initially, it seemed like KKR might gain momentum after Phil Salt struck a six off Nuwan Tushara’s first delivery. However, Tushara quickly dismissed him, followed by a crucial breakthrough by Jasprit Bumrah, stunning Sunil Narine with a remarkable delivery that sent the stumps flying.

Jasprit Bumrah
Jasprit Bumrah cleaned up Sunil Narine

The KKR vs MI match, scheduled for IPL 2024, commenced at half-past nine due to rain delays. Despite interruptions, the game kicked off nearly two hours later. While KKR only needs one more win to secure a playoff spot, MI is already out of contention.

ALSO READ: James Anderson to retire from Tests after Lord’s Test against West Indies

With 8 wins from 11 matches, Kolkata currently leads the points table with 16 points. Pitch inspection took place at 8:45, with the toss scheduled for 9:00 and the match starting at 9:45, allowing both teams 16 overs each.

Winning the toss, Mumbai Indians opted to bowl first, with Rohit Sharma featuring as an impact player once again.  The power play, spanning from 1 to 5 overs, will see each bowler permitted to bowl four overs, while four bowlers can deliver three overs each.

ALSO READ: Varun Chakravarthy Recalls Shahrukh Khan’s Motivational Gesture

In the initial over, Nuwan Tushara removed Phil Salt (6), who initially struck a six but fell victim to Tushara’s cunning on the fifth ball.  Following suit, Jasprit Bumrah sent shockwaves through KKR by dismissing Sunil Narine with a triple on his very first delivery, leaving the KKR opener rooted to the spot as the stumps were rattled.


Mumbai Indians (Playing XI): Ishan Kishan(w), Naman Dhir, Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Varma, Nehal Wadhera, Hardik Pandya(c), Tim David, Anshul Kamboj, Piyush Chawla, Jasprit Bumrah, Nuwan Thushara

Kolkata Knight Riders (Playing XI): Philip Salt(w), Sunil Narine, Venkatesh Iyer, Shreyas Iyer(c), Rinku Singh, Nitish Rana, Andre Russell, Ramandeep Singh, Mitchell Starc, Harshit Rana, Varun Chakaravarthy