Jasprit Bumrah Ruled Out Of South Africa Test Series, Replacement Announced
By CricShots - Sep 24, 2019 6:12 pm
Views 234

Unfortunately, the fierce Indian fast bowler, Jasprit Bumrah has been ruled out of the home Test series against South Africa with a minor stress fracture in his lower back. He will be replaced by the veteran fast bowler, Umesh Yadav, who has a phenomenal record in Test cricket especially in home games.  

Jasprit Bumrah ruled out of the South Africa series due to stress fracture 

On Tuesday, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) said in a statement that injury was detected during a ‘routine radiological screening’. Bumrah will now undergo rehabilitation at the NCA in Bangalore and his injury will be closely monitored by the BCCI Medical Team and the Indian team management.

ALSO READ: CoA Has Rescheduled The BCCI Elections To October 23

The injury means Bumrah will have to wait longer to play his first Test at home. He has been the fast bowling spearhead for India in recent times, picking 62 wickets in 12 Tests, all away from home. He has been in red-hot form and scalped 13 wickets in two Tests in West Indies. It included two five-wicket hauls and a hat-trick.

Umesh Yadav

Bumrah was rested from the T20I leg of the series against South Africa, which ended in a 1-1 draw. He was also rested from the limited-overs leg of the West Indies tour that followed the World Cup. However, it’s a well-deserved call-up for Umesh who has been a constant feature in-home Tests for the last three years. He picked 10 wickets in his last Test at home, against West Indies last October.

ALSO READ: Indian Government Ready To Play Bilateral Series With Pakistan?

However, India’s abundance in the pace department meant Umesh go to play just one Test in Australia. He was also not picked in the playing XI for the two games against West Indies. Ishant Sharma and Mohammed Shami are the other fast bowlers in the Indian team for the South Africa series.

The first Test is scheduled to commence on October 2 in Visakhapatnam before the series moves to Pune and Ranchi.