Social Shots
Jay Shah Announce India’s U19 World Cup Winning Team Will Be Felicitated In Ahmedabad
By CricShots - Jan 31, 2023 12:16 pm
Views 64

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) secretary Jay Shah announced on Monday that the legendary cricketer, Sachin Tendulkar, and the board office-bearers will felicitate the World Cup-winning India U19 women’s team at the Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad on February 1.

India U19
India U19 World Champions

India’s U19 World Cup-winning team will be reaching Mumbai from South Africa on Tuesday and then travel to Ahmedabad for the award ceremony on Wednesday. The award ceremony is scheduled to be taking place on the eve of the third and final T20I between India and New Zealand in Ahmedabad.

ALSO READ: Lucknow Curator Gets Sacked After Last Minute Changes To The Pitch

In hi tweet informing the same, Jay Shah said, “It is with great delight I share that Bharat Ratna Shri @sachin_rt and @BCCI Office Bearers will felicitate the victorious India U19 team on Feb 1st in Narendra Modi Stadium at 6:30 PM IST. The young cricketers have made India proud and we will honour their achievements.”

Shafali Verma led a group of talented youngsters to the inaugural edition of the U-19 T20 World Cup title on Sunday, as India recorded their first-ever ICC triumph in women’s cricket with a seven-wicket win over England in the final. India cruised to victory over England in the final, with seven wickets in hand and six overs to spare, thanks to a brilliant new-ball performance and a calm run-chase.

After winning the toss and electing to bat, India’s bowlers were ruthless against the England team. Titas Sadhu and Archana Devi reduced the opponents to 22/4 after six overs, with key batter Grace Scrivens falling. Devi was slightly more expensive, but her 2/17 included Scrivens and Niamh Holland dismissals (10). Wickets continued to fall, with England unable to complete their allotted overs despite Ryana MacDonald’s protests. And with 17 balls remaining, the final wicket fell, leaving India with a target of just 69 to win.

ALSO READ: Murali Vijay Decides To Retire From International Cricket

Shafali Verma’s aggressive 15 from 11 balls cut into the target early on, but the removal of both openers gave India a temporary scare. Hannah Baker had Verma caught before Scrivens removed Shweta Sehrawat.

But Soumya Tiwari and Gongadi Trisha made an excellent and composed partnership. The pair got to within one hit of the target when Trisha went for glory and was cleaned up by Alexa Stonehouse. But India didn’t have to wait long for the winning moment, with Soumya Tiwari knocking a single to see it through with an unbeaten 24* from 37 balls, exactly what her side required on the big stage.