IPL 2021
Josh Hazlewood Decides Not To Take Part In IPL 2021 For CSK
By CricShots - Apr 1, 2021 1:54 pm
Views 200

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) fast bowler, Josh Hazlewood has decided not to take in the upcoming 14th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL). Hazlewood was set to depart for India with Australia’s IPL-bound players today, but the pacer has decided to pull out of this year’s IPL in order to spend some time with his family.

Josh Hazlewood
Josh Hazlewood

As per the quotes in cricket.com.au., Josh Hazlewood said, “It’s been a long 10 months in bubbles and quarantine at different times, so I decided to have a rest from cricket and spend some time at home and in Australia in the next two months. We’ve got a big winter ahead too. The West Indies is going to be a long tour, with Bangladesh T20 tour potentially thrown on the end of that.”

ALSO READ: Mohammad Azharuddin Feels Pant Can Lead India As Well In Future

He further added, “Then potentially the T20 World Cup leading into the Ashes, so it’s a big 12 months, as it always is with Australia, and I want to give myself the best chance to be mentally and physically ready for that. That’s the decision I’ve made, and it sits pretty well with me.”

On Wednesday, SunRisers Hyderabad all-rounder Mitchell Marsh had also pulled out of IPL 2021, and the franchise named Jason Roy as his replacement. Earlier, Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) batsman Joshua Philippe decided no to feature in this year’s IPL, citing personal reasons.

chennai super kings
Chennai Super Kings (CSK)

Hazlewood featured in CSK’s playing XI just in three games during IPL 2020 and this year, he would have been competing with Moeen Ali, Sam Curran, Lungi Ngidi, and Dwayne Bravo for a spot in the playing XI.

IPL 2021 is slated to commence on April 9 with Mumbai Indians locking horns with the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in the tournament opener. CSK will play its first match on April 10 against Rishabh Pant-led Delhi Capitals at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.

ALSO READ: Mumbai Indians Squad Reaches Chennai For The IPL 2021 Opener

Dhoni has led CSK to the IPL title thrice (2010, 2011, and 2018), but in the last season, they finished at the seventh spot and it was the first time, that the side failed to qualify for the playoffs.