Josh Hazlewood fit and added in Australia’s WTC final squad against India
By SMCS - May 29, 2023 1:56 pm
Views 37

Australia submitted their final 15-member squad for the upcoming World Test Championship final where Josh Hazlewood has also been added despite recent injury concerns, the International Cricket Council (ICC) have announced. The pacer cut short his Indian Premier League (IPL) campaign earlier this month after having “minor side soreness” but he had been declared fit by Cricket Australia for the all-important test at The Oval in London starting on June 7.

Nathan Lyon
The Australian team

The veteran joins the captain Pat Cummins, Scott Boland and Mitchell Starc as the specialist fast bowlers in the squad with all-rounder Mitch Marsh and batter Matthew Renshaw, who were added in the squad, missing out. Meanwhile, India have confirmed the 15 players team they announced three weeks ago after wicket-keeper batsman KL Rahul withdrew from the much-awaited match with a right leg injury and was replaced by the uncapped Ishan Kishan as well.

READ MORE: ‘Could have gone deeper’ – Shubman Gill on his knock

However, uncapped opener Yashasvi Jaiswal was named along with Mukesh Kumar and Suryakumar Yadav as standby players for India after a strong IPL 2023. Notably, standby players can now replace an injured player in the squad only with the approval of the ICC technical committee as well. After the WTC final, Australia will play in the Ashes series against England with the first test starting at Edgbaston on June 16 as well.

Australia India
Australia defeated India

ALSO READ: Viacom18 bags WIPL Media Rights for 5 years

WTC final Squads:

Australia – Pat Cummins (captain), Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Todd Murphy, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, David Warner

India – Rohit Sharma (captain), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, KS Bharat, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat, Ishan Kishan