IPL 2024
Kagiso Rabada Forced To Leave IPL 2024 Due To Injury Blow
By CricShots - May 15, 2024 5:04 pm
Views 14

Kagiso Rabada’s departure from IPL 2024 due to a lower limb soft tissue infection has dealt a significant blow to the already struggling Punjab Kings, who are already eliminated from the playoffs. Despite his impactful performance in the tournament, taking 11 wickets in 11 games, Rabada will miss the remaining matches, including the upcoming clash against the Rajasthan Royals, adding to Punjab’s woes following Liam Livingstone’s earlier departure due to injury.

Kagiso Rabada
Kagiso Rabada

The absence of key players like Rabada, Livingstone, Jonny Bairstow, and Sam Curran further compounds Punjab’s challenges in the closing stages of the IPL. With their playoff hopes dashed, Punjab’s management granted Rabada permission to return to South Africa for treatment, where he consulted with a specialist under the supervision of Cricket South Africa’s medical team.

ALSO READ: Sourav Ganguly Praises Rishabh Pant’s Captaincy Amid Delhi Capitals’ IPL 2024 Campaign

The loss of Rabada is particularly significant for South Africa’s national team, given his status as the only black African player in the 15-man provisional squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup. South Africa’s selection policies mandate the inclusion of a certain number of players of colour, including black Africans, in each playing XI.


Kagiso Rabada’s absence poses a challenge to meeting these targets, necessitating his participation in every match to avoid falling short. The T20 World Cup presents a critical opportunity for South Africa to meet and potentially surpass their diversity targets.

ALSO READ: Rajat Patidar Reveals Mantra Behind RCB’s Resurgence

However, with Rabada’s departure from the IPL and limited options for black African players in the squad, the team faces a heightened challenge in achieving this goal. Despite the return of Anrich Nortje from injury and the presence of other promising pacers like Lungi Ngidi, Rabada’s absence leaves a significant void in both Punjab Kings’ and South Africa’s campaigns.

South Africa T20 World Cup Squad

Aiden Markram (c), Ottniel Baartman, Gerald Coetzee, Quinton de Kock, Bjorn Fortuin, Reeza Hendricks, Marco Jansen, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, David Miller, Anrich Nortje, Kagiso Rabada, Ryan Rickelton, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs

Travelling reserves: Nandre Burger and Lungi Ngidi