Kane Williamson Anticipates Thrilling Semi-Final Clash Against India
By CricShots - Nov 15, 2023 2:50 pm
Views 7

Ahead of the highly anticipated semi-final clash against India in the ongoing World Cup, New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson expressed his excitement about the prospect of facing their formidable opponents once again. The last time the two sides met in a World Cup semi-final was in the 2019 edition, where New Zealand emerged victorious by 18 runs.

Kane Williamson
Kane Williamson

New Zealand boasts an impressive record against India in ICC white-ball events, with nine wins out of 14 matches. However, India did manage to defeat them by four wickets in the league stage of the 2023 World Cup.

Speaking after winning the toss in Mumbai, Williamson revealed that he would have opted to bat first as well, considering the nature of the pitch. He acknowledged the challenge of facing India in a knockout match but expressed confidence in his team’s ability to perform under pressure.

ALSO READ: Robin Uthappa Hails Shreyas Iyer’s Form, Suggests Future Captaincy Role For India

“We would have batted first as well. Obviously, a used surface. But we will try to bowl well with the new ball and hopefully, the dew comes in later,” Kane Williamson stated.


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by ICC (@icc)


“Amazing occasion this one. Four years ago, a similar situation but at a different location. And now it’s great to be back again and we are looking forward to today’s clash,” he added.

Williamson emphasized the importance of maintaining focus and adapting to the demands of the tournament. He confirmed that New Zealand would be fielding the same team that played in the previous match.

ALSO READ: Yuvraj Singh And Suresh Raina Mourns the Loss Of Business Icon Subrata Roy

The stage is set for an electrifying semi-final encounter between India and New Zealand, with both teams eager to secure their place in the final. Williamson’s anticipation and confidence reflect the high stakes and the intense competition that will unfold in Mumbai.

New Zealand Playing XI: Devon Conway, Rachin Ravindra, Kane Williamson (c), Daryl Mitchell, Tom Latham (wk), Mark Chapman, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Lockie Ferguson, Tim Southee, Trent Boult.

India Playing XI: Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Lokesh Rahul (wk), Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj.