Former England skipper, Kevin Pietersen is tired of being called MS Dhoni’s first victim in Test cricket and once again vent out his frustration on Tuesday, May 16. The former Indian skipper famously reminded the English batter about the incident during IPL 2016, when he was given out against Dhoni during a Test match in England in 2011.
Kevin Pietersen, who was commentating on the game, was having a conversation with Manoj Tiwary and asked him to tell Dhoni that he (Pietersen) was a better golfer than the wicketkeeper batter. However, surprisingly, on being informed about the same, Dhoni quipped, “He’s still my first Test wicket.”
ALSO READ: Brian Lara Explains Umran Malik’s Omission From SRH’s XI
The hilarious response was loved by fans all over the world who began believing the fact without cross-checking. Expressing his frustration on the misconception, Pietersen tweeted, “I’m actively seeking the clip from the Test match at Lords to put to bed all these claims that I WAS Dhoni’s first Test Wicket. I hate to break it to you – I WASN’T!”
Here it is 👽👽 pic.twitter.com/vOWO94lS39
— jetha hi🏆ler 🐦 (@sterns_haschen) May 16, 2023
Notably, the incident took place during the first Test of the four-match series between India and England in 2011. MS Dhoni came out to bowl after the star seamer Zaheer Khan got injured earlier on Day 1 at Lord’s. Coming in to bowl in the 80th over of England’s first innings, Dhoni appealed for a caught behind on the third ball, and much to his delight, umpire Billy Bowden immediately raised his finger signaling the end of Pietersen’s innings.
ALSO READ: Shubman Gill Reveals Virat Kohli Always Motivated Him
However, Kevin Pietersen decided to review the decisions and replays found that the sound came from Pietersen’s bat hitting his pad and there was no contact between the bat and the ball. Hence, the decision was overturned and Pietersen continued his innings. The English batter played an unbeaten knock of 202* and England won the match by 196 runs.
Hence, MS Dhoni doesn’t have a wicket to his name in Test cricket in the 16 overs he has bowled in the format. However, he took a wicket in the ODIs against West Indies. The former Indian skipper cleaned up Travis Dowlin during the 2009 ICC Champions Trophy. It remains Dhoni’s only wicket in international cricket.