By B Dixit - Sep 3, 2017 10:26 pm
Views 0

1982 – Under the leadership of Kapil Dev, India whitewashed Sri Lanka (3-0) for the first time in ODI cricket. Sri Lanka played the three ODIs at Amritsar, Delhi, and Bangalore and lost them by 78 runs, 6 wickets, and 6 wickets respectively.

2014 – Under the leadership of Virat Kohli, increasing their domination, India whitewashed Sri Lanka (5-0) for the second time in ODI cricket. Sri Lanka played the five ODIs at Cuttack, Ahmedabad, Hyderabad, Kolkata, and Ranchi and lost them by 169 runs, 6 wickets, 6 wickets, 153 runs and 3 wickets respectively.

2017 – Under the leadership of Kohli again, India whitewashed Sri Lanka (5-0) for the third time in ODI cricket. The fact that this time India defeated Sri Lanka in Sri Lanka speaks volume about their domination.

Barring the exceptional series result, the Indian team was also successful in their motive of trying different combinations. Having scored yet another century in a successful chase, Kohli has equaled Ricky Ponting’s tally of 30 ODI centuries. At 28, he has the joint-second highest number of centuries in ODIs. Now that is some record. Isn’t it?

Chasing 239 to win, India lost Ajinkya Rahane (5) and Rohit Sharma (16) in the fifth and the eighth over.  Manish Pandey (36) was the third Indian wicket to fall, but, till then, a 99-run partnership between Kohli and Pandey had put India right back on track.

Playing this match in place of Lokesh Rahul, it was Kedar Jadhav’s chance to step up now. Having scored 63 (73) with the help of seven fours, Jadhav once again strengthened his case for a middle order spot in the ODI team. At one end, Kohli remained unbeaten on 110*. His innings was comprised of nine fours.

It was pleasing to see two India fast bowlers amongst the awards in the presentation ceremony. After registering his maiden five-wicket haul, Bhuvneshwar Kumar has adjourned the Player of the Match. For the first time in his career, Jasprit Bumrah was declared the Man of the Series in a bilateral ODI series. In five matches, he clinched 15 wickets at an average of 11.26, an economy rate of 3.90 and a strike rate of 17.3.

Watch how MS Dhoni allowed Kohli to score the winning runs: