Kiran More Feels Rishabh Pant And Dinesh Karthik Will Playing In The Same XI
By CricShots - Aug 9, 2022 12:00 pm
Views 88

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) finalized the Indian squad for the Asia Cup 2022 squad on Monday, 7 August. The 15-member squad has witnessed a comeback of a couple of star players – Virat Kohli and KL Rahul. However, there were upsets on the card because India will not be able to field their best playing XI once again with Harshal Patel and Jasprit Bumrah getting injured and subsequently getting sidelined from the tournament.

dinesh karthik
Dinesh Karthik

However, going into the tournament, one of the major concerns for the Indian team management will be picking the best batters from the current Indian batting line-up, with multiple stars vying for spots in full-time batting positions. The likes of Dinesh Karthik, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, and now the returning KL Rahul will have a good shout for the spots.

ALSO READ: Aakash Chopra Is Surprised With The Exclusion Of Mohammed Shami

Former Indian cricketer Kiran More took on the matter and said that he would not bother selecting Dinesh Karthik in the squad, if he does not find a place in the starting XI.

Kiran More
Kiran More

Kiran More elaborated, “In my playing XI, both Rishabh Pant and Dinesh Karthik will play. If the idea is for Dinesh Karthik to sit outside, then I will not take him to tours. He has performed very well in the recent times, he has been given the role of the specialist finisher as well.”

ALSO READ: Vivek Razdan Feels Dinesh Karthik Is Occupying A Space For No Reason

He further stated, “Rishabh Pant has not made a lot of runs in that role, and he has struggled a little as well. But he is a super player, and I will definitely play him. I will probably sit out Deepak Hooda from the team and play with Hardik Pandya, Pant, Karthik and Jadeja.”

Indian Squad for Asia Cup 2022:

Rohit Sharma (captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar, Rishabh Pant, Deepak Chahar, Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravi Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan

Reserves: Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Chahar, Axar Patel.