KL Rahul Reacts As Pujara Was Named Vice-Captain In Test Cricket
By CricShots - Dec 12, 2022 8:19 pm
Views 74

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) decided to appoint Cheteshwar Pujara as the deputy skipper for the two-match Test series against Bangladesh. BCCI was highly criticized by the fans for appointing Pujara as the vice-captain ahead of Rishabh Pant. Team India’s regular skipper, Rohit Sharma suffered an injury in the second ODI against Bangladesh as he suffered a blow on his thumb while trying to attempt a catch in slips.

kl rahul
KL Rahul played a brilliant knock in the Centurion Test

Rohit Sharma was then released from the squad and BCCI appointed KL Rahul as the captain for the two-match Test series against Bangladesh. BCCI also announced Cheteshwar Pujara as the vice-captain for the test series against Bangladesh and the decision didn’t go well with the cricket fans. BCCI was blasted for ignoring Rishabh Pant, who is a regular performer in the test format while choosing Pujara as the vice-captain who was dropped from the squad earlier this year.

ALSO READ: MS Dhoni Gives An Autograph To A Fan On His Back

During a chat with reporters in Chattogram, KL Rahul said, “I at least don’t know what the criteria is, whoever is picked you give yourself a pat on your back. Even for me, when I was named the vice-captain, you get happy, you have the responsibility of the team. It really doesn’t change much; everybody knows their role and responsibility and how much the team appreciates their contribution.”

KL Rahul and Cheteshwar Pujara

He further added, “Rishabh and Puji both have been brilliant for us, and have done the job so many times. We don’t really think that much, he tries to take responsibility. We carry on as a team.”

It’s worth considering that Rishabh Pant was the vice-captain in the solitary Test match against England while Jasprit Bumrah led the side in the absence of Rohit Sharma. The sudden decision to appoint Pujara as the vice-captain was termed as “ridiculous” by cricket fans on Twitter.

ALSO READ: Ishan Kishan Funnily Answers A Question During The Press Conference

BCCI also announced the replacement of injured players. Rohit Sharma has been replaced by Abhimanyu Easwaran while Mohammed Shami and Ravindra Jadeja have been replaced by Saurabh Kumar and Navdeep Saini. Saurashtra skipper Jaydev Unadkat has also been added to the squad.