KL Rahul Takes A Staggering Catch To Dismiss Usman Khawaja
By CricShots - Feb 17, 2023 2:06 pm
Views 71

The Indian deputy skipper, KL Rahul took a standing one-handed catch to dismiss the well-set opener Australian opener, Usman Khawaja on day 1 of the ongoing second Test against Australia at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi on Friday. It incidentally also brought up the 250th Test wicket for all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja. Batting on 81, Australia’s top scorer of the day Khawaja went for a revere sweep against a delivery from Jadeja that was tossed up just outside the off-stump.

KL Rahul
Usman Khawaja was dismissed on a reverse sweep owing catch from KL Rahul

Usman Khawaja played the shot hoping that he will beat the point fielder KL Rahul but he dived full length to his right to pull off a one-handed staggering catch. The wicket of Khawaja was the 250th Test victim for allrounder Jadeja, who has also scored 2593 runs so far.

Here is the video of the catch by KL Rahul:

Earlier in the day, Australia skipper Pat Cummins won the toss and decided to bat first at the Arun Jaitley Stadium. The visitors made a couple of changes in the XI as Matt Renshaw and Scott Boland may way for Travis Head and the debutant bowler Matthew Kuhnemann. On the other hand, India made only one change to the winning XI as Shreyas Iyer came in for Suryakumar Yadav.

WATCH – R Ashwin Gives An Indirect Warning To Labuschagne For A Run-out At Non-striker’s End

The match also marks the 100th Test appearance for Indian batsman Cheteshwar Pujara, who was felicitated by batting legend Sunil Gavaskar before the start of play.

Earlier in the game, the Australian skipper, Pat Cummins won the toss again and he had no hesitation in deciding to bat first. The Test marked the 100th appearance in Test cricket for Cheteshwar Pujara for India, as he was felicitated by Indian batting legend Sunil Gavaskar ahead of the game.

WATCH – Fans Engulfed Virat Kohli As He Left Arun Jaitley Stadium In A Swanky Porsche

As the players took the field, Pujara was also given a guard of honor by the Indian team members, as well as Australia openers Usman Khawaja and David Warner. Australia lost their first wicket on the score of 50 when Mohammed Shami struck the breakthrough, inducing an outside edge off David Warner and KS Bharat took an easy catch. Warner fell on 15. India is leading the four-match series 1-0.