IPL 2024
KL Rahul Takes On Role Of Impact Player for LSG To Prevent Injury
By CricShots - Mar 30, 2024 8:07 pm
Views 22

Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) made an unexpected move as Nicholas Pooran stepped out for the toss instead of regular captain KL Rahul in their clash against Punjab Kings at the Ekana Cricket Stadium in Lucknow. This decision raised eyebrows, especially considering Rahul’s recent return from injury.

kl rahul
KL Rahul

The skipper had been sidelined due to a quadricep strain sustained during the England series. However, Nicholas Pooran clarified that Rahul wasn’t injured but was being given a break to manage his workload in the long IPL season.

“We’ll bat first. Looks like a good track, runs on the board could be vital. KL is coming back from injury and we’re looking to give him a break in such a long tournament, but he’ll play as an impact player today. Everyone must take the opportunities and perform at their best,” Nicholas Pooran explained during the toss.

WATCH – Prerak Mankad and Shamar Joseph Bring Cheer to LSG Camp

Consequently, KL Rahul’s role in the game would be limited to batting, with Pooran leading the team on the field. LSG aimed to secure their first win of the season against PBKS after starting their IPL 2024 campaign with a defeat against Rajasthan Royals. Despite impressive performances from Rahul and Pooran in their previous match, LSG fell short of the target set by Rajasthan.


Meanwhile, Punjab Kings had a mixed start to their season with a win against Delhi Capitals followed by a loss to Royal Challengers Bengaluru. They sought to regain momentum and return to winning ways against LSG. With both teams eager for victory, the stage was set for an exciting encounter at the Ekana Cricket Stadium.

ALSO READ: Cameron Green Recalls His Trade To RCB, Praises Virat Kohli

Lucknow Super Giants (Playing XI): Quinton de Kock(w), KL Rahul, Devdutt Padikkal, Ayush Badoni, Nicholas Pooran(c), Marcus Stoinis, Krunal Pandya, Ravi Bishnoi, Mohsin Khan, Mayank Yadav, Manimaran Siddharth

Punjab Kings (Playing XI): Shikhar Dhawan(c), Jonny Bairstow, Liam Livingstone, Sam Curran, Jitesh Sharma(w), Shashank Singh, Harpreet Brar, Harshal Patel, Kagiso Rabada, Rahul Chahar, Arshdeep Singh