IPL 2024
KL Rahul’s Strategic Brilliance: Disrupting Jake Fraser-McGurk’s Plan
By CricShots - May 14, 2024 8:21 pm
Views 97

In the 64th match of IPL 2024, the Delhi Capitals (DC) faced off against the Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) in Delhi, with the Super Giants winning the toss and opting to field first. Notably, the Capitals made a strategic change, sidelining David Warner for this game. At the start of the innings, Jake Fraser-McGurk and Abhishek Porel took charge for the Capitals, facing the bowling of Arshad Khan from the Lucknow Super Giants.

Jake Fraser-McGurk
Jake Fraser-McGurk witnessed a rare duck

Arshad Khan’s opening delivery saw a couple of wides, setting a slightly erratic tone. However, on the third ball, McGurk attempted a big shot, missing the delivery entirely.

Arshad continued his attack with another delivery aimed at the off-stump line. Despite the pressure, McGurk managed to connect, lofting the ball towards long-on. It was here that the strategic brilliance of LSG captain KL Rahul shone through.

ALSO READ: Ricky Ponting Predicts High-Scoring Continues in IPL Despite Impact Player Rule

Kl Rahul had strategically placed a fielder at long-on, and Naveen-ul-Haq executed the catch flawlessly. It appeared to be a well-orchestrated plan, a testament to Rahul’s captaincy skills.


Losing McGurk early dealt a significant blow to the Capitals. McGurk had been instrumental in providing explosive starts, boasting 330 runs in eight innings with an impressive strike rate of 237.41 before this match. His departure at the beginning of the innings could potentially hinder the Capitals’ momentum and alter their game plan moving forward.

ALSO READ: Justin Langer Reveals Chat Between Sanjiv Goenka And KL Rahul

Delhi Capitals (Playing XI): Abishek Porel, Jake Fraser-McGurk, Shai Hope, Rishabh Pant(w/c), Tristan Stubbs, Axar Patel, Gulbadin Naib, Rasikh Dar Salam, Mukesh Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Khaleel Ahmed

Lucknow Super Giants (Playing XI): KL Rahul(c), Quinton de Kock(w), Marcus Stoinis, Deepak Hooda, Nicholas Pooran, Krunal Pandya, Yudhvir Singh Charak, Arshad Khan, Ravi Bishnoi, Naveen-ul-Haq, Mohsin Khan