Marcus Stoinis miss out as Australia announce men’s new contracts
By SMCS - Mar 28, 2024 11:16 am
Views 20

Cricket Australia (CA) released the names of the 23 players who have won the new contracts on Thursday. Meanwhile, veteran all-rounder Marcus Stoinis was one of the biggest names to miss out on a new contract. However, Stoinis has battled back injuries recently, but he was part of Australia’s winning ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup squad last year. Even he is in their selection thoughts for June’s ICC Men’s T20 World Cup as well.

Marcus Stoinis
Marcus Stoinis

However, along with Marcus Stoinis, all-rounder Ashton Agar, opening batter Marcus Harris, pacer Michael Neser and recently retired veteran opener David Warner have also missed out on fresh contracts as CA opted to give deals to a handful of new faces as well. All-rounders Matt Short and Aaron Hardie were added to the new deals after they were upgraded to the contract list during the summer alongside fast bowler Nathan Ellis. Young right-armer Xavier Bartlett was also included in a full-time contract after doing well with the ball against the West Indies earlier this year as well.

ALSO READ: Kirti Azad welcomes BCCI’s new directive in central contract

Cricket Australia selection chair George Bailey said, “Matt, Aaron and Xavier have been extremely impressive in the early stages of their international careers. Their performances and the way they have embraced the international stage has been exciting to watch. The panel believes they have strong futures and are deserved of their contracts as they work towards striving to become regulars in the Australian setup.”

Xavier Bartlett
Xavier Bartlett took a wicket on his debut

Cricket Australia contracted men’s players 2024-25: Sean Abbott, Xavier Bartlett, Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Aaron Hardie, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Lance Morris, Todd Murphy, Jhye Richardson, Matt Short, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa