Matthew Wade Named Captain Of Australia’s 15-Man T20I Squad For India Series
By CricShots - Oct 28, 2023 4:35 pm
Views 52

Australia have named their 15-man squad for the upcoming five-match T20I series with India, which will be played after the conclusion of the ODI World Cup later this month. Wicketkeeper-batter Matthew Wade has been promoted to captain the side in the absence of regular skipper Mitchell Marsh and some of their star bowlers, including Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, and Mitchell Starc.


The series starts on November 13 in Visakhapatnam, followed by matches in Thiruvananthapuram, Guwahati, Nagpur, and Hyderabad.

“It’s an experienced squad with a mixture of players who have had their first opportunity on the international stage and that we hope will continue to develop into important players in our T20 group,” said Australia chief selector George Bailey.

WATCH – Glenn Maxwell’s Six Reaches The Rooftop In Spectacular Fashion

Wade has been named skipper on an interim basis, as Australia have rested Marsh, who is currently involved in the ODI World Cup in India. Wade hasn’t played any international cricket since the 2022 T20 World Cup, but he was called up as an injury cover for Australia’s T20I series in South Africa earlier this year.

“Matthew has captained the team previously, is a leader in the group, and we look forward to him taking the reins for this series. Like Mitch Marsh in the South Africa series, this is another great opportunity to further deepen our international leadership experience and depth,” George Bailey said.

matthew wade
Matthew Wade

“It’s always a great challenge to take on India on their home soil. Most of the squad have extensive experience in playing in India, including eight members of the current ODI World Cup squad, alongside Tanveer Sangha, who is currently a travelling reserve,” he added.

Marsh, Cameron Green, and the pace trio of Cummins, Starc, and Hazlewood will return to Australia to prepare for the home Test series against Pakistan.

ALSO READ: Shane Watson Compares David Warner To Virat Kohli For His Ability To Change Gears

Australia T20I Squad: Matthew Wade (captain), Jason Behrendorff, Sean Abbott, Tim David, Nathan Ellis Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Spencer Johnson, Glenn Maxwell, Tanveer Sangha, Matt Short, Steve Smith, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa