Mayank Agarwal To Skip Ranji Trophy Against Mumbai To Play For India ‘A’
By CricShots - Jan 1, 2020 12:48 pm
Views 13
Share Post

The Indian Test opener, Mayank Agarwal will be rested for the high-profile away Ranji Trophy game against Mumbai, starting January 3 as a part of the workload management program by the BCCI ahead of A team’s tour of New Zealand.

Mayank Agarwal

Agarwal will play for India ‘A’ during the shadow tour to New Zealand, where they would play two warm-up List A games, three unofficial ODIs, and two four-day games before joining the senior squad for the Test matches. The tour starts on January 17.

ALSO READ: Sanjay Manjrekar Accepts He Had Bad Year As An Analyst And As A Commentator

With the Karnataka opener set to leave with A squad led by Shubman Gill on January 10, it is understood that BCCI had asked the state team to exempt Agarwal from the upcoming Ranji game. 

Ajinkya Rahane 

However, Ajinkya Rahane and Prithvi Shaw will be playing for Mumbai even though they are also part of the A-team. While Prithvi like Agarwal will play both formats, Rahane along with Cheteshwar Pujara will be playing the warm games ahead of the Test series by playing the second four-day game.

ALSO READ: Hardik Pandya Makes His Relationship Official

As per a report in Cricinfo, Ravikumar Samarth has been recalled by Karnataka for the upcoming encounter.

India A squad for two tour matches and three one-day games: Prithvi Shaw, Mayank Agarwal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill (capt), Suryakumar Yadav, Sanju Samson, Ishan Kishan (wk), Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Axar Patel, Rahul Chahar, Sandeep Warrier, Ishan Porel, Khaleel Ahmed, Mohammed Siraj.

India A squad for 1st four-day game: Prithvi Shaw, Mayank Agarwal, Priyank Panchal, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Shubman Gill, Hanuma Vihari (capt), KS Bharat (wk), Shivam Dube, Shahbaz Nadeem, Rahul Chahar, Sandeep Warrier, Avesh Khan, Mohammed Siraj, Ishan Porel, Ishan Kishan.

India A squad for 2nd four-day game: Prithvi Shaw, Mayank Agarwal, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Hanuma Vihari (capt), KS Bharat (wk), Shivam Dube, R Ashwin, Shahbaz Nadeem, Sandeep Warrier, Avesh Khan, Mohammed Siraj, Ishan Porel.