IPL 2024
Mayank Markande Castles Virat Kohli: Turning Point In RCB vs SRH IPL Clash
By CricShots - Apr 15, 2024 11:36 pm
Views 36

In the electrifying clash between Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB) and Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) in IPL 2024, Virat Kohli emerged as the beacon of aggression for his team. Facing a daunting chase of 288 runs at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Kohli showcased his trademark tenacity and unleashed a barrage of powerful strokes against the SRH bowlers.

Mayank Markande
Mayank Markande castled Virat Kohli

From the onset, Virat Kohli’s intent was crystal clear as he launched a relentless assault on the opposition, peppering boundaries with precision. However, the tide turned with the introduction of leg-spinner Mayank Markande. Kohli, known for his mastery over spin, fell victim to Markande’s guile, succumbing to a well-flighted googly that crashed into his stumps during the 7th over.

WATCH – Unadkat’s Ingenious Runout Leaves Will Jacks Unlucky In Bengaluru

As Mayank Markande celebrated the prized scalp of IPL’s premier batter, Virat Kohli’s frustration was palpable, evident in his visceral reaction of smashing the bat against his pad. The dismissal underscored the unpredictability of cricket, with even the most formidable batsmen vulnerable to a well-executed delivery.


Virat Kohli’s departure dealt a blow to RCB’s aspirations, leaving them to recalibrate their strategy in pursuit of the daunting target. Yet, his aggressive innings, albeit cut short, underscored his unwavering commitment to lead from the front and his ability to dominate the game even in adverse circumstances.

WATCH – Reece Topley’s Catch Turns Sour With No-Ball Drama

However, RCB still managed to reach the score of 262/7 in their quotes of 20 over owing to a jubilant knock of 62 off 28 from skipper Faf du Plessis and 83 from 25 from Dinesh Karthik.

Royal Challengers Bengaluru (Playing XI): Virat Kohli, Faf du Plessis (c), Will Jacks, Rajat Patidar, Saurav Chauhan, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Mahipal Lomror, Vijaykumar Vyshak, Reece Topley, Lockie Ferguson, Yash Dayal

Sunrisers Hyderabad (Playing XI): Travis Head, Abhishek Sharma, Aiden Markram, Nitish Reddy, Heinrich Klaasen (wk), Abdul Samad, Shahbaz Ahmed, Pat Cummins (c), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jaydev Unadkat, T Natarajan