Social Shots
MCC Clarifies Their Stand On Fakhar Zaman’s Controversial Run-out
By CricShots - Apr 5, 2021 5:50 pm
Views 107
Share Post

The MCC has finally clarified its stand on Fakhar Zaman’s controversial run-out during the second ODI between South Africa and Pakistan on Sunday. Zaman fell at the score of 193 as Pakistan failed to gun down a 342-run target in Johannesburg despite his brilliant ton which he scored with the help of 10 sixes and 18 boundaries. Captain Babar Azam’s 31 was the next-best score for the visitors who failed to provide Zaman the helping hand he needed.

mcc fakhar
Fakhar Zaman run-out was affected by Quinton de Kock

While the on-field umpire did not take any action against de Kock for his fake fielding attempt, his action sparked a huge debate on social media. And as the debate goes on, the MCC has explained that it was ‘up to the umpires to decide’ if the Proteas wicket-keeper has attempted to ‘distract’ or ‘deceive’ the batsman.

Taking to their official Twitter account, MCC Twitter posted the relevant law relating to Fakhar’s dismissal: “Law 41.5.1 states: “It is unfair for any fielder wilfully to attempt, by word or action, to distract, deceive or obstruct either batsman after the striker has received the ball.”

ALSO READ: Fakhar Zaman Was Run-out After Fake Fielding By Quinton de Kock?

Explaining it further, the MCC tweet added: “The Law is clear, with the offence being an ATTEMPT to deceive, rather than the batsman actually being deceived. It’s up to the umpires to decide if there was such an attempt. If so, then it’s Not out, 5 Penalty runs + the 2 they ran, and batsmen choose who faces next ball.”

Fakhar Zaman was run-out seven runs short of his second double hundred in the first delivery of the final over. Zaman, who hit the ball towards the cover boundary, was trying to complete his second but a direct him by Aiden Markram forced hok to go back to the pavilion. The southpaw was in a comfortable position to complete the second run but he mistook the throw to be going to the other end before seeing the stumps disturbed by the direct hit.

ALSO READ: Shane Bond Reveals The Bowling Changes Of Hardik Pandya

Notably, replays showed that South Africa wicketkeeper Quinton de Kock tricked Fakhar Zaman into believing that the throw was going towards the bowler’s end. While Zaman was yet to complete his second run, de Kock raised his hand and signaled towards the non-striker’s end.