IPL 2023
Michael Vaughan Trolls Wasim Jaffer For Becoming PBKS’ Batting Coach
By CricShots - Nov 17, 2022 11:47 am
Views 66

Former English skipper, Michael Vaughan has taken a dig at Wasim Jaffer after the former India opener was roped in as the batting coach of the IPL side Punjab Kings (PBKS) on Wednesday. Jaffer was announced as the batting coach by the Mohali-based franchise on Wednesday as PBKS has undergone a major overhaul of their backroom staff.

Michael Vaughan
Wasim Jaffer

The IPL side appointed Trevor Bayliss as their head coach, while Charl Langelvedt has been roped in as the bowling coach for the franchise. Brad Haddin was roped in as their assistant coach. PBKS took to Twitter to announce Jaffer as their batting coach. “The one you had been waiting for, introducing our Batting Coach, Wasim Jaffer! Reply with a meme to welcome the King!,” Punjab Kings posted on Twitter.

ALSO READ: Alex Hales Gets Reprimanded For Old Picture Imitating Tupac Shakur

Michael Vaughan decided to take to Twitter and troll the former India opener after his appointment. Both men have been known for taking regular digs at each other on the social media platform over the years, especially during India vs England games. The former English skipper joked that he was surprised to see someone who got out to his bowling is now a batting coach.

“Someone who got out to me is a batting coach !!!!!!!!!!!!” said Vaughan on Twitter.

PBKS has not only undergone a change in their team management but also in the squad as well. During the retention ahead of IPL 2023, the Mohali-based franchise decided to release last season’s captain Mayank Agarwal and appointed Shikhar Dhawan as their new skipper.

ALSO READ: Sanjay Manjrekar Feels Mayank Agarwal Will Go Big In IPL Auction

West Indies allrounder Odean Smith, Prerak Mankad, Writtick Chatterjee, Ishan Porel, Vaibhav Arora, Benny Howell and Sandeep Sharma have also been released along with Agarwal. PBKS has a purse of 32.2 crores remaining for the IPL 2023 auction.

The list of the players retained by the franchise is given below:

Players retained: Shikhar Dhawan (c), Arshdeep Singh, Atharva Taide, Baltej Singh, Bhanuka Rajapaksa (wk), Harpreet Brar, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Jonny Bairstow (wk), Kagiso Rabada, Liam Livingstone, Nathan Ellis, Prabhsimran Singh (wicketkeeper), Rahul Chahar, Raj Bawa, Rishi Dhawan, Shahrukh Khan