Mohammad Kaif opines on Yuzvendra Chahal’s absence in T20 World Cup games
By SMCS - Nov 16, 2022 12:14 pm
Views 58

Former Indian player Mohammad Kaif feels veteran India spinner Yuzvendra Chahal would be disappointed after not playing a game in the T20 World Cup, where the team lost to England in the semifinal. Kaif added that the leg spinner could have played a key role against England in the knockout game, as he had picked up four wickets in a couple of T20Is against England earlier this year as well.

yuzvendra chahal
Yuzvendra Chahal

Speaking to Sportskeeda, Mohammad Kaif said: “Yuzi Chahal will be disappointed. He knows that the T20 World Cup is a big tournament. Your main bowlers were groomed for the last six to eight months. We saw his role when he took four wickets against England in T20Is. He looked in good form. So, it was disappointing (for him to sit out). He was mentally ready, but Team India didn’t use him.”

READ MORE: Suryakumar reveals the reasons behind Rohit Sharma’s weird gesture for Dinesh Karthik

Meanwhile, former India player Robin Uthappa also said that the team management could have used Chahal in one game to see what he could do.

Yuzvvendra Chahal
Yuzvvendra Chahal dropped a catch

Speaking on the same, Uthappa said: “Not playing him in any game, maybe in hindsight, they will lament that they might have played him in at least one match to see what he could have done in those conditions. They didn’t do. Rohit Sharma and Rahul Dravid are big names. They know exactly how to communicate with players, how to groom and when to play or use them, give them debut and even practice matches, which Pant got in the middle when Dinesh Karthik was dropped.”

READ MORE: Bhuvneshwar Kumar’s wife slams trolls through her Instagram post

India’s squad for New Zealand T20Is: Hardik Pandya (C), Shubman Gill, Ishan Kishan, Deepak Hooda, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (VC and WK), Sanju Samson (WK), Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Harshal Patel, Mohd. Siraj, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umran Malik